AMD Catalyst 15.11.1 Beta Driver

HardOCP News

[H] News
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
0
The folks at AMD sent word that the new Catalyst 15.11.1 beta drivers are now out. This driver release includes quality and performance optimizations for Assassin's Creed Syndicate, Fallout 4, Star Wars: Battlefront and Call of Duty: Black Ops III. Grab em' if you need em'.
 

Quix

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 12, 2011
Messages
3,709
Does it fix CrossFire for Fallout 4? After reading it it's very noncommittal.
 

dook43

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 9, 2005
Messages
2,950

Quix

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 12, 2011
Messages
3,709
I'm planning on dropping these AMD cards soon, Crossfire is too much of a pain. I'll probably just go single-card and to hell with it.
 

dook43

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 9, 2005
Messages
2,950
I'd agree with that if I played any Gameworks titles. The cards have been working fine in BF4, the Dirt series, Metro, etc. for me.
 

collegeboy69us

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 27, 2003
Messages
5,256
I'm planning on dropping these AMD cards soon, Crossfire is too much of a pain. I'll probably just go single-card and to hell with it.
As much as I love having the raw power of two cards, I'm more and more in this camp of thinking as well.

The fact that every beta (hell even every legit) release from AMD fucks with SOMETHING on my machine... just pisses me off. Trying their latest and greatest, then having to rollback several times to get back to where my games work like they did, annoying.

And seriously -- optimizations for Black ops III? This game is running on an engine that's 10 years old, in theory some of our phones could run this game if needed. So the idea of having to optimize drivers around this game is pretty silly to me.

Normally I like experimenting with beta stuff, maybe I'm getting old and lazy, but these days, I want to sit down and just PLAY SOME GAMES not fuck with drivers for a few days so I can have a bug free experience.

Ewww I'm sounding more and more like a dirty console peasant. Luckily I haven't turned on my Xbox One for 6+ months :-p
 
Joined
Apr 13, 2012
Messages
565
I've run sli and crossfire setups and both are pretty much in the same camp regarding compatibility problems. I am willing to put up with teething problems on new video games simply due to the fact that it's the only way to put together a 4k capable pc on a budget. I suspect with wider adoption of 4k that sli / crossfire will only get more popular.

That said, it's still a bummer it's taken this long for any support for fallout. I place blame firmly in Bethesda's camp.
 

sean.b

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 9, 2011
Messages
147
somewhere on reddit, there's talk of using a Crysis3 profile for crossfire. these drivers, i confirmed, will NOT natively use crossfire. you still have to force a profile.

that said, single card performance for me leaped on these. dual is still meh, but still better than previous drivers. not very noticeably better than single, yet, though. havent tried AFR friendly, yet. that didnt work on previous versions, as it caused light flickering issues ill give that a go on these tonight.
 

sirmonkey1985

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
21,843
As much as I love having the raw power of two cards, I'm more and more in this camp of thinking as well.

The fact that every beta (hell even every legit) release from AMD fucks with SOMETHING on my machine... just pisses me off. Trying their latest and greatest, then having to rollback several times to get back to where my games work like they did, annoying.

And seriously -- optimizations for Black ops III? This game is running on an engine that's 10 years old, in theory some of our phones could run this game if needed. So the idea of having to optimize drivers around this game is pretty silly to me.

Normally I like experimenting with beta stuff, maybe I'm getting old and lazy, but these days, I want to sit down and just PLAY SOME GAMES not fuck with drivers for a few days so I can have a bug free experience.

Ewww I'm sounding more and more like a dirty console peasant. Luckily I haven't turned on my Xbox One for 6+ months :-p
you seem to be very quick to blame AMD for everything developers are screwing up instead of going to the root of the problem which is THE GAME DEVELOPERS.. if the developers can't get their shit straight why should AMD or Nvidia have to constantly fix the game for them. the fact that it's a gameworks game and Nvidia still hasn't been able to get SLI to work in fallout 4 says a whole lot more about the crappy skyrim engine then it does about AMD or Nvidia.
 

Nenu

[H]ardened
Joined
Apr 28, 2007
Messages
19,176
If he changes the driver and his games get messed up, the most likely culprit is the driver.
 

Ticker305

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 25, 2011
Messages
1,077
These drivers really smoothed out the game and gave me more consistent fps on my 280x. I still get the occasional microstutter here and there, but its not nearly as bad as before. hopefully Bethesda releases some sort of performance patch soon because the game seems to be horribly CPU bound and it doesn't help I'm on a 2500k with 1333hz memory.
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2008
Messages
690
As much as I love having the raw power of two cards, I'm more and more in this camp of thinking as well.

The fact that every beta (hell even every legit) release from AMD fucks with SOMETHING on my machine... just pisses me off. Trying their latest and greatest, then having to rollback several times to get back to where my games work like they did, annoying.

And seriously -- optimizations for Black ops III? This game is running on an engine that's 10 years old, in theory some of our phones could run this game if needed. So the idea of having to optimize drivers around this game is pretty silly to me.

Normally I like experimenting with beta stuff, maybe I'm getting old and lazy, but these days, I want to sit down and just PLAY SOME GAMES not fuck with drivers for a few days so I can have a bug free experience.

Ewww I'm sounding more and more like a dirty console peasant. Luckily I haven't turned on my Xbox One for 6+ months :-p
*cough* 196.75 *cough*
 

collegeboy69us

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 27, 2003
Messages
5,256
you seem to be very quick to blame AMD for everything developers are screwing up instead of going to the root of the problem which is THE GAME DEVELOPERS.. if the developers can't get their shit straight why should AMD or Nvidia have to constantly fix the game for them. the fact that it's a gameworks game and Nvidia still hasn't been able to get SLI to work in fallout 4 says a whole lot more about the crappy skyrim engine then it does about AMD or Nvidia.
Gotcha -- Game X runs fine and dandy. <Install new drivers from AMD legit or beta>, Game X stops working properly. Yup that MUST be the problem of the game developers?

Logic fail.
 

primetime

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
6,370
Did they fix eyefinity in AC4 yet
Did you report the specific issue to amd? Cause i don't recall reading that in any of the change logs yet. Right now it wouldn't be to till the crimson series comes out, assuming there working on it tbh
 

AnubisPrime

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 31, 2002
Messages
259
Figured I'd chime in that 15.11.1 has made a huge difference for me in FO4.

I have two 7950's in Crossfire. Previously I was unable to get Crossfire working without large negative scaling as others had reported.

15.11.1 seems to have given me a single card increase that was noticeable but not significant. However I can now run Crossfire in AFR Friendly mode and it has been working perfectly.

Able to get 75 constant FPS with everything turned up (minus Godrays) now with 2x 7950 in Crossfire @ 1440p
 

Tzzird

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
5,891
I had beta 15.11

Installing beta 15.11.1... will chime in with results from my r9 280 in a bit. I run at 2560 x 1440, low settings and the fps dips to low 20's in outside areas where I can see into the distance for miles. Average fps is probably mid 30's overall and goes up to the 50's indoors.
 

Tzzird

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
5,891
Ok... I don't really ever dip into low 20's anymore. Looks like the worst it gets now is high 20's. The driver definitely has boosted average fps across the board.
 

R0nnieW00d

n00b
Joined
Oct 15, 2015
Messages
24
Did you report the specific issue to amd? Cause i don't recall reading that in any of the change logs yet. Right now it wouldn't be to till the crimson series comes out, assuming there working on it tbh
Yep reported the issue 4 or 5 times now
 

britjh22

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 15, 2014
Messages
384
These drivers really smoothed out the game and gave me more consistent fps on my 280x. I still get the occasional microstutter here and there, but its not nearly as bad as before. hopefully Bethesda releases some sort of performance patch soon because the game seems to be horribly CPU bound and it doesn't help I'm on a 2500k with 1333hz memory.
You might want to look into faster memory, Techspot found that memory speed actually had an usually high impact. You may be mistaking CPU bound for memory performance issues.
 

polydiol

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 3, 2004
Messages
1,327
These work well in game Star Wars Battlefront but I still have flickering menus and loading screens.
 

Lorien

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 19, 2004
Messages
5,197
Crossfire scaling on Assassins Creed: Syndicate is impressive. Keep in mind the developers have always favored Nvidia in this series. Methinks these latest drivers are paving the way for the R9 Fury X2 announcement

Tests were conducted using the very latest Nvidia and AMD drivers. Take special note that the minimum framerate of the dual Fury X setup is higher than the average of the 980ti SLI cards across the board :)
 
Last edited:

Deathroned

Gawd
Joined
Mar 6, 2015
Messages
554
Crossfire scaling on Assassins Creed: Syndicate is impressive. Keep in mind the developers have always favored Nvidia in this series. Methinks these latest drivers are paving the way for the R9 Fury X2 announcement

Tests were conducted using the very latest Nvidia and AMD drivers. Take special note that the minimum framerate of the dual Fury X setup is higher than the average of the 980ti SLI cards across the board :)
Radeon masterace
 
Top