AMD and NVIDIA

mary9861

n00b
Joined
Nov 17, 2020
Messages
3
Hi guys,
So, my motherboard has 2 PCI slot and I want to use 2 graphic cards.
Is it possible to use AMD and NVIDIA at the same time?
Is there going to be software problems?
Are there going to be preferred settings or I can use them both at the same time?
 

Hakaba

Gawd
Joined
Jul 22, 2013
Messages
843
Any reason why? In the old days yes you could run Nvidia for physx and have ATI drive the graphics. Not really sure of today, don’t really see why not. In the end it is just application and drivers being installed next to each other.

Also, most mobo treat the top pcie slot as the main GPU installed.
 

ellover009

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 17, 2005
Messages
1,852
U talking about pci-e or the old pci?
modern pci express for the most part nvidia and amd stopped making profiles and updating sli, they are delegating that to a direct x feature called mgpu, it should allow someone to run 2 mismatched cards, but it's at the discretion of the game developer to decide if they want to implement it rather than before when nvidia and amd made profiles for sli and crossfire.
There isn't even an sli thing on the new nvidia except on the 3090.
The only modern game that comes to mind is ashes of singularity. There's a few things here and there about it.

https://www.gamersnexus.net/game-bench/2326-amd-nvidia-sli-directx-12-benchmark-explicit-multi-gpu
https://arstechnica.com/gaming/2016...lly-work-together-but-amd-still-has-the-lead/
https://developer.nvidia.com/explicit-multi-gpu-programming-directx-12

If you got an old pci card it might be messy. I don't think there's profiles for modern games, so unless you got an older windows, old drivers, and cds then it might be rough for you. Multi gpu support crossmatched? ppl used to use the amd to drive the machine, and they used a hacked driver or settings to use a cheaper nvidia card to provide the physics, back when they were pushing for it. GL .
 

mary9861

n00b
Joined
Nov 17, 2020
Messages
3
Thanks guys for sharing.
it's just like an experimental hardware, sounds like an interesting thing to do.
thank you so much again.
 

zandor

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
3,328
I've run mixed cards before without any trouble but I think the last time was in 2003 or 2004 and it was a mix of Matrox and NVidia. I've never tried mixing a GeForce with a Radeon but I hear it can be messy. I bought a Parhelia to try out the surround thing, but had 3 screens and the Parhelia only supported 3 screens in surround mode which basically treated all three screens as one big display (just like NV surround) and surround gimped your max resolution to something like 1280x1024. For desktop use I wanted my 21" CRT at 1600x1200, so I had this messed up setup with 2 vid cards and a VGA switch wired backwards to flip the 3rd screen between surround off the Parhelia and running of the cheap NV card... I think it was a GeForce MX2 PCI.

If you have both cards (AMD & NV) and don't mind reinstalling Windows (worst case scenario... unless your PSU can't handle it and blows up) if it gets messy I'd encourage you to try it and report back. "Bad Idea" seems to be "common knowledge," but I'm not sure I remember the last time someone said "I mixed GeForce and Radeon and here's what happened". Maybe I'll try it and run a few tests if I end up with a Radeon at the end of my new vid card hunt. I'd take a 3080, 6800XT or 6900XT... whichever one I can actually buy without getting scalped. I have an NV card now though so if I get my hands on a 3080 the experiment will be a no-go.
 

whateverer

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 2, 2016
Messages
1,375
Why do you suddenly feel the need to run dual-cards?

Is it for performance reasons.,. or because you want to hook more than 4 monitors up?

We can't really tell you the downsides, until you tell us your intention.
 
Top