Advise need in building a 15x8TB Raid array.

Discussion in 'SSDs & Data Storage' started by justbenice, Sep 7, 2019.

  1. justbenice

    justbenice Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    181
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Hi,
    I am having a file server for home media like music, movies 4K, etc... with 15x8TB disk. 7 disk are Seagate Archive 8TB in mainboard Sata port (JBOD) and 8 disk are WD GOLD 8TB in PERC H200 card (JBOD). Last week i moved my house so i turn of my file server for a few days. Last night after finish moved all the thing in my house i turn on the file server , there were 3 of my disk dead (mainboard or sas card doesn't recognized those disk anymore) . What a bad luck that all of those disk were out of warranty ! And what a shame that all of 3 dead disk were WD Gold 8TB (wd8002fryz) .
    Now i don't want to lost any more data so what kind of Raid card and raid array should i use in this case? I don't need good read or write speed (Arround 100MBs is ok) but don't too slow in building array.
    Thank you so much!
     
  2. WestSidaz

    WestSidaz Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Are u sure it isnt just bad cable? Did u move those hdds or server itself in some bad way.. back in the days yahoo fcked up their data by moving their hdds/servers in wrong way and lost tons of data because of that..

    Personaly i use snapraid + stable bit drivepool config in my current server..
     
  3. justbenice

    justbenice Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    181
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Yup , i also thought that were old broken cable so i bought 7 more new sata cable, i also change those dead disk to another port but it surely dead already.
    My CPU is I3 3GHz with 8G Ram so do you think a raid card will safer and faster than a software raid by windows?
     
  4. justbenice

    justbenice Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    181
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    What do you guys think about the ASR-8555 for building a raid10 array?
     
  5. Meeho

    Meeho [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,470
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Avoid HW RAID solutions. Best would be something ZFS based, but other SW solutions are ok too.
     
  6. WestSidaz

    WestSidaz Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    with a moped model system like yours i would go with something really light if u dont wanna update.. have u ever considered something like unraid? winblows would be heavy and that amount would need more ram... zfs prolly same story with ram atleast..
     
  7. justbenice

    justbenice Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    181
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Thanks Meecho and WsstSidaz,

    I still don't understand why we should avoid HW Raid? With the Adaptec ASR-8885 can build Raid10 Array in 16 disk and 12Gbs/lane only arround 250$ (ebay), i thought HW Raid alway better than SW Raid.
     
  8. _Gea

    _Gea 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,854
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    If you go 15 years back, hardware raid was always better than software raid. CPUs were weak at that time and the available software raid were bad.

    Now cpus are fast enough for realtime 3D. If they do raid processing you will not see any impact in cpu load. Additionally you can use fast system RAM for caching (much faster/more than on a hardware raid). Additionally newer software raid especially ZFS adds realtime data checksums, use crash resistent copy on write mechanism and are not affected by the raid-hole problem of traditional raid, http://www.raid-recovery-guide.com/raid5-write-hole.aspx

    So nowadays software raid is always better than hardware raid.

    btw
    Archive disks are absolutely not suited for any type of realtime raid!
     
  9. justbenice

    justbenice Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    181
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Thank you! So if i use software raid, what kind of Raid should i use for disk like 8TB, 10TB? Raid5 or Raid10?
     
  10. rive22

    rive22 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,609
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    justbenice likes this.
  11. Meeho

    Meeho [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,470
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Probably RAID 6 for your use.
     
    justbenice likes this.
  12. _Gea

    _Gea 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,854
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    A Raid-10 would offer the best random performance but you loose 50% capacity for redundancy. A Raid 5/6/Zn has only the iops of a single disk but a similar sequential performance like a Raid-10 but more usable capacity.

    If this would be a filer for valuable data, a ZFS realtime raid would be the best as it offers a superiour data security.

    If this is a pure mediaserver, none realtime options with a raid alike creation of a redundancy disk on demand like Snapraid, Unraid may be an option.
     
    justbenice likes this.
  13. WestSidaz

    WestSidaz Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    plus for hw raid if card itself crashes.. you will need same model new card or you are screwed if i remember correctly..
     
    justbenice likes this.
  14. Krispy Kritter

    Krispy Kritter Gawd

    Messages:
    554
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Same brand, model, chipset, and firmware in most cases. With software Raid, you can break the array, move a disc to another computer, and still access the data. Plus the performance is only limited by the actual speed of the drive, thus it's faster in most cases.

    Not popular as of late, but I'm still using FlexRaid for this very reason.
     
    justbenice likes this.
  15. blade52x

    blade52x 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,977
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    While true, you also have to consider that rebuilding raid6 is much more taxing on the remaining array, then rebuilding a raid10 array which is taxing only on the paired drive. With 10+ drives, he's probably looking at 1 rebuild a year on average, and rebuilding an array of that size could days on a raid6 array. I think with that many drives, easier maintenance becomes worth the loss of capacity with raid10.
     
    justbenice likes this.
  16. Meeho

    Meeho [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,470
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    I chose RAID10 for my ZFS based NAS because of the above, plus the easier and cheaper pool expansion. But for his non-essential media use, RAID6 could be a better choice due to the capacity gains.
     
    justbenice likes this.
  17. justbenice

    justbenice Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    181
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Thank you for all the great advise! I am using windows server so what is the best windows raid software right now ?
    I am thinking in between raid6 and raid10 , raid6 look like i have more space, anyone know how long it take to rebuild a 14 x 8tb disk array in raid6?
     
  18. WestSidaz

    WestSidaz Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    it deppens of your hardware :) if it is moped hardware, slow controllers aswell and performance is limited per drive speeds.. it will take a long time..

    Best software.. it is prolly a matter of taste.. i personaly use snapraid + stablebit drivepool combo... there is other options aswell like flexraid what u can read about and consider
     
    justbenice likes this.
  19. justbenice

    justbenice Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    181
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    I am gonna use the Ryzen 3200G +16G Ram for this software Raid, do you think it enough power for fast rebuild the array?
     
  20. WestSidaz

    WestSidaz Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    it isnt always matter of cpu or how much data it can eat without pooppin.. big issue in that will also be how fast sata ports are.. how fast hdds are.. system is fast as its weakest link.. and ofcourse raid system itself how u are gonna build it.. there are really good options in this thread to go with.. and i know it can be really hard to choose the right now when there is so many options.. i had same issue
     
  21. justbenice

    justbenice Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    181
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    I end up with a ryzen 2600 + B450M board + 16GB ram + LSI 9400-16i. I will put all the disk in the SAS card which is 12Gbs/1 port to save power for I/O and CPU read disk data. Do you think it ok? And will that 9400-16i will last long for all day server?
     
  22. thesmokingman

    thesmokingman [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,887
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Archive drives... are those a good choice for RAID? I did RAID 6 for many years... At the end of that trip, after enough losses along the way, changes, more drives I said F it. I've had enough of RAID. I went back to large single drives organized with libraries. I then back those up to externals via usb3. I've had no losses since. For ex...

    D5pmNUXl.jpg
     
  23. justbenice

    justbenice Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    181
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    So what are you using for externals backup? I still can't find the way to backup that much of data (arround 50TB)
     
  24. WestSidaz

    WestSidaz Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Nobody really knows how long parts can last.. they can last a week or 10 years.. :) Personaly i use UPS systems for protecting from lightnings and power outtages..

    But you can do alot to make them last longer.. keep them cool.. have a good psu giving those parts good energy.. get ups and give protection from outside issues :)
     
  25. thesmokingman

    thesmokingman [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,887
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Five 10TB external backup drives will handle it. I have a stack of 8TB/10TB externals that I back up to using Syncback. It's decidedly low tech but it works. Internally I'm running two 8TB, two 10TB, one 12TB drive, and a 6TB drive for scratch.
     
  26. justbenice

    justbenice Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    181
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    It will take space for the backup machine. I think i will link 7x8TB disk to one logic disk and mirror it with another 7x8TB disk to have safe data backup. And all of 14 disk in the same computer case to save space. As i don't need speed so i just do it basic to keep everything simple and safe.