Advice extending wifi coverage in house

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by aliaskary77, Feb 6, 2019.

  1. aliaskary77

    aliaskary77 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    267
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Currently, the setup done by my brother, not techie at all, is pretty bad.

    they have the ISP router with wireless (Device1/SSID1) on the ground floor. they have 2 ethernet runs going up to the second floor connecting to two other devices. one looks to be a router (Device2/SSID2), one an access point (Device3/SSID3). They are all TPlink, but all 3 have different SSIDs.

    While connected to SSID3, I get an IP address I assume is on device3, but when I go to the admin screen of device3 (I think i am on device3), it shows the info for Device2. When on SSID2, going to admin page of Device2, i see the same info, but dont know how to control the AP, Device3.

    I want to simpify things and have everything use the same SSID and Device1 manage DHCP. I dont want to put the ISP router into bridge mode and have a better router1 like i do for myself.

    Can I just get 2 wired access points to replace Device2 and Device3, all use the same SSID and move around freely, and get this to work? Any low cost APs you can suggest? Will then look at their user guides on how to set them up.

    Or are we talking something more complicated like mesh and more expensive devices?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Cmustang87

    Cmustang87 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,363
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    You can't do this with just single APs. There needs to be some form of controller. Basic APs that you buy are standalone that connect to a router wtih no intelligence between them that can carry sessions, share SSID, routing, etc.

    As much as it gets mentioned around here and everywhere else, and since the wiring infrastructure is already in place, this is a slam dunk for Ubiquiti. You can keep your existing router, but turn off all the wireless that's existing and deploy new Unifi APs... alternatively, you could get a Unifi router and Unifi APs and centrally manage everything.

    For the new setup:

    Ground Floor - Existing router + a Unifi AP
    Second Floor - Another Unifi AP

    https://www.amazon.com/Ubiquiti-UniFi-AC-Lite-UAPACLITEUS/dp/B07CYGX2GP

    Unifi AP AC-Lite 2-pack bundle.
     
  3. EniGmA1987

    EniGmA1987 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    161
    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Yes. If "device 1" is the ISP router then you leave that alone and leave it as a router and wireless access point combo. Have your DHCP Server on this.
    Remove "device 2" and "device 3", and replace them with regular WiniFi AP Lite's. Use PoE injectors to power them at the router end.
    Install the controller software on a laptop or desktop, set them up using the same SSID as the router has and the same password for wifi. You may also want to specifically set the wifi channel for each access point (including the router combo) to different channels so they dont interfere with each other and get better coverage and speed. Something like channel 2, 5, and 8. For better stability and range with a reduction in throughput you could also set your channel width to 20.
    You can then turn off the laptop and not run the controller at all. This will give you 3 wifi access points in the house and you can move freely through all of them.
     
    Cmustang87 likes this.
  4. aliaskary77

    aliaskary77 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    267
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    thanks. will look into this. will have to make sure it can do 110V/220V. they have 220V back home. house uses concrete blocks so not very penetrable.

    will look into PoE injectors. the runs could be upto 200 feet. not sure how they routed.
     
  5. EniGmA1987

    EniGmA1987 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    161
    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    The POE-24-12W-G also from Ubiquiti supports universal voltage. 100-240 volt, and 50/60 hz. Just have to get a power plug for Europe for it though. It will provide 24v DC power to the access points.
     
  6. scrappymouse

    scrappymouse n00b

    Messages:
    21
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    While Ubiquity is great(have it setup at my house and love it, it is NOT for beginners to Networking), You most likely don't need additional equipment, many routers you can use just as an access point/extender. Put Device 2/in access mode, Device3/Keep as an AP, Use the SAME SSID throughout,
    Check out this guide, https://www.cnet.com/how-to/how-to-turn-an-old-wi-fi-router-into-an-access-point/ for the first recommendation.
     
  7. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,903
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Unifi is not for everyone sigh...and its the very first thing people tell others to run out and get.

    Go get a set of Google mesh or orbi or Amplifi HD mesh and you'll be fine. Follow the instructions and you'll be off to the races.
     
  8. aliaskary77

    aliaskary77 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    267
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    thanks. yeah if i was doing it for myself, i would go ubiquity. this is for my dad and bro, non techies. all i can ask them to do is reboot. i go visit once a year half way round the world, the rest is remote support.
    all i can count on them to do is reboot.
    will check out the links and prices.
     
  9. mda

    mda [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,415
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    If the devices are recent enough, you can do the following:

    1. Set the router #2 to function in AP mode.
    2. Set all APs to be the same SSID and same password.
    3. Adjust signal strengths per device to make sure that overlap is minimal

    IF the main dhcp/router is new/smart enough, devices should roam properly.

    IF not, there will be problems when devices 'roam' from one AP to another.

    I've tested this with a mixed bunch of 2010-2014 DLink gear, and had to update my router when the devices didn't roam (well it did help that the router died by itself before I really had to replace it).
     
  10. ThreeDee

    ThreeDee [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,593
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    I snagged up 4 UniFi AP's and dispersed them over my house/property(garage) .. use same SSID and have great coverage wherever I go here ...
     
  11. FNtastic

    FNtastic [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,301
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    How many sqft are you covering?
     
  12. ThreeDee

    ThreeDee [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,593
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    House is 2000+ .. mainfloor and a basement. Just one ap covered the whole house but I put 2 more at either end and one in our detached garage for better coverage outside around the house
     
    FNtastic likes this.