Advantages/disadvantages

Destonomos

[H]ard|Gawd
I'm relatively new to the actual buisness side of Networking as I graduate in 2 semesters from college and I'm doing my intern this summer for email at the 3rd largest bank security company in the US.

My question is this. I was thinking of buying some router equip for my home and wanted to know the advantages/disadvantages of going with a rack mounted server with 4 hotswap drives vs just a large tower PC with a ton of internal sata drives with Server 2003 on it.

Generally there isn't a hardware advantage to one vs. the other. However, the reason I've gone with rack mount vs. tower in my house is because of space. I can keep adding servers and not take up any additional floor space. Racks do usually cost a little more.

Do racks usually limit harddrive space because I was planning on running a server to backup everything and to run things and then a NAS to file serve but a rack server seems like I'm limited with 4 or so harddrives (total of 4 TB?). Would just a rack server be sufficient at doing network storage and backup all in one? I was trying to think of some other things I could setup on the server that would be nice but I'm having trouble thinking of something outside of backup and file serving.

Do racks usually limit harddrive space because I was planning on running a server to backup everything and to run things and then a NAS to file serve but a rack server seems like I'm limited with 4 or so harddrives (total of 4 TB?). Would just a rack server be sufficient at doing network storage and backup all in one? I was trying to think of some other things I could setup on the server that would be nice but I'm having trouble thinking of something outside of backup and file serving.