adult website help(no not what your thinkin sorta)

Spun Ducky

Gawd
So my brother in law wants a website made and specifically an adult toy website. The issue is this guy has absolutely no idea what it takes to run an ecommerce site. He thinks since I won't just sign on for the "easy" money for 500 bucks one time payment that I don't understand his genius.

So my question is how on earth do I bring some reality to someone that struggles to even use microsoft office on the computer muchless run an ecommerce site and yes he thinks a one time payment is a set and forget investment.

I am by no means an expert or fluent in web dev/design languages as i work in embedded systems, however just from brief reading I know I could pick it up quite quickly and also would probably use a premade CMS or template rather than hash one from the ground up.

So my question for H is how do I talk him out of the insanity or should I build the site and let it crash in burn when he realizes it needs daily maintenance? I know it is a loaded question of sorts but these web languages for me after working in assembly and c seem rather easy that is the only reason why I propose a quick learning curve.

This is easy.

Download -> Install Magento E-Commerce

Give him admin password and tell him to go 'make his easy money'.

Wait for him to bombard you with questions and tell him to DIAF.

Build the site, get your "one payment" for just the site creation, and when it fails, tell him maintenance costs extra.

If he dont pay, tell him, sorry.

I see that you've got more to lose by agreeing to do this, especially in the tail-end of the project lifecycle. Know when to walk away from a project offer.

I see that you've got more to lose by agreeing to do this, especially in the tail-end of the project lifecycle. Know when to walk away from a project offer.

This. If it were almost anyone beside your b-law, I'd say take the money and run.

Your wife/sister would likely hold a grudge. It isn't worth it.