AD Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rampage1329

[H]ard|Gawd
I don't want to call complete BS on the ad admin, so I will ask you if what this user is saying make sense. It sounds to me like he is being lazy.

I work in a school environment, and have been pushing to have autoplay disabled at my schools. It seems to be a farely straightforward request, only the ad admin says it can't be applied to wireless computers because unless they have a wireless controller at the campus they get the IP address from our main datacenter. ( I know this to be true) He says they can't isolate those machines to apply the update. It seems the point of active directory is to restrict access for users not based by machine but by user so the access remains consistent at whichever location they log onto.

My question is can the ad admin really not disable the autoplay feature by user?

I believe this can be done by GP. As long as the User Account, or Computer Account has that GP applied to it, it doesn't matter where they are connected within the network. Wireless or not, the GP will apply.

In before the move!!!!!!!

-edit- Take all this with a grain of salt. I have barely even started working with GP/SCCM.

if you just look at the AD side of things, each computer account can be moved into a specific OU that has group policy set to disable autoplay, or whatever else you care to turn off, restrict etc etc....theoretically this should work no matter the IP address.

in comes modern routing, firewalls etc that may cause a computer to not be able to reach a domain controller and thereby not update its group policies...

without knowing alot about your infrastructure, i'd say there is a sliver of truth in regards to the wireless clients....the ad admin still sounds only half informed though(as am I, working with what little insight i have :D, grain of salt to all :p)

are all the laptops that are connecting wirelessly, actually joined to the domain? ie, school property?