Ad causing a page load

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
19,388
This ad is causing a page load and makes you hit the back button twice to go back.
This started this morning.

hard-forum-ad.jpg
 

FrgMstr

Just Plain Mean
Staff member
Joined
May 18, 1997
Messages
52,960
I will watch for this. I get Dodge ads all the time and will check this next time I see one.

That said, I need the URL it resolves to in order to block it.
 

FrgMstr

Just Plain Mean
Staff member
Joined
May 18, 1997
Messages
52,960
Let me see if I can get it to reproduce. What browser and version?
 

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
19,388
Firefox 55.0.3 (64-bit)

I just tested Chrome and it doesn't do it.

I tested another machine with Firefox 56.0 (64-bit) and it does it as well with that Dodge Ram ad. strange.
 
Last edited:

FrgMstr

Just Plain Mean
Staff member
Joined
May 18, 1997
Messages
52,960
Can you see if it does it with Firefox 57? It is a hell of a lot faster with that version too.
 

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
19,388
Yep, does it with 57 as well.
It appears to be only that Dodge ad that does it. Haven't noticed the issue with other ads.
 

FrgMstr

Just Plain Mean
Staff member
Joined
May 18, 1997
Messages
52,960
Yep, does it with 57 as well.
It appears to be only that Dodge ad that does it. Haven't noticed the issue with other ads.
Honestly, I do not want to block the Dodge ads as they actually get clicked on and make a couple bucks every month. If I block one, I have to block all of them.
 

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
19,388
Just noticed something else, if you go back, and that ad loads, you can no longer go forward since the ad does a double page load.
did a screen cap so you can see what it's doing,


If the ad is making money, I wouldn't worry about it. Was just letting you know about the issue with this particular ad.
 
Last edited:

FrgMstr

Just Plain Mean
Staff member
Joined
May 18, 1997
Messages
52,960
That is really odd. I have gone to RamTrucks three times today trying to get it to load.
 

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
19,388
Maybe go to Ford and see if the Dodge one loads up. I was at the Ford site a few times yesterday when the Dodge ad started showing up.

If I had the cash I'd be rocking this bad boy,
2018-Raptor.jpg
 
Top