active directory question

p0lish

Gawd
I run a small business network along with my other job stuff, and i have a question. I have been tweaking a few things here and there, and i was looking at AD stuff. I changed one workers "member of" to just domain user to try out what he would be able to do and not to do. I want to give said worker more privledges, and when i add back "administrator" to his member of options, he doens't have the ability to repair his LAN connection or modify time ect. I rebooted his computer a couple times, but it's still giving me problems. Any ideas?

Specs.

Server2003
DNS, DHCP, FTP, AD, ect.

thanks,

-p

alot of times when i change clients to domain user it messes up a bunch of programs and the only way to fix it is to set them as domain admins.

im still learning too, so im tagging in on this.

What group did you add him to? "Administrators" (with the s)?

If he needs to have access to do basic stuff, it is best to give him as limited access as he needs. This typically means leaving him as a domain user within AD and giving each user extra privileges on their personal computer.

If he must have admin access on his computer - go add his domain user account to the local administrator group on his computer. I don't believe administrator is necessary though - you may be able to get by with just the local power users group. If you need to do this with a large number of users, it is relatively easy to do this using a group policy.

EDIT: Marley pointed out a pretty big misconception, not to mention a huge security lapse. Users can definitely be setup as domain users only within active directory and still have full access to their client computer.

Devin