Activation Key

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Mike6789, Jul 29, 2006.

1. Mike6789

Mike6789 n00bie

I got a stupid question but I never really thought about it before. Will my Windows XP activation key ever wear out? In the past 3 weeks I've reformatted a few times trying different things with dual boot using Windows and Linux (basically I screwed up the grub loader a few times and had to reformat 3 times...) Well hey I'm new to Linux! lol.

So I've used my activation key a total of 4 times. I'm wondering where there will be a point where they will say its invalid? Is there some defense to be sure I'm not just installing it onto 4 different computers?

Yeah just thought I'd ask.

2. ryan_975

ryan_975 [H]ardForum Junkie

not unless your activating it that many times. The algorithm that checks the key for validity is hard coded into the setup routine and does not change. Now on activation though XP will check with Microsoft's internet database to see if the key is still valid for activation or not. But even then all it takes is a phone call to have it reset.

Supposedly, (and I don't know the truth of this so take it with a grain of salt) Microsoft has the ability to nuke the activation routine once XP is no longer supported. Which will make you not have to activate anymore. But that's not until 2009-11 sometime.

3. Whiznot

Whiznot [H]Lite