acohol instead of water

DREW10

Weaksauce
could I use acohol instead of water for water cooling......I think I read somewhere that it is not conductive......but is it safe in the loop???

DREW

It's been discussed before and the general idea is no, don't use it.

I imagine it'll eat away at tubing, etc, after a while, but I'm no expert.

It may also not be as good at carrying the heat away as distilled water is.

actually I bet you could use it if you had tygon chemical lab tubing. Its 2 bucks a foot at mcmasters.com.

Krazy_Joe said:
actually I bet you could use it if you had tygon chemical lab tubing. Its 2 bucks a foot at mcmasters.com.

yeah buit if it eats the blades on a fish tank pump whats the point

^^^

And it will slowly wear the metal in your block, eat away at any rubber component it touches, while not having any benefit over water...plus it would probably slowly dry over time, as it is alcohol.

Guys...

Read the other post.

It would burn through all the parts. It also would pick up thermal energy easier, but it can't hold as much as water. The only liquid that's better than water (That I know of) is mercury. Though I wouldn't reccomend it...unless you want brain damage.

Chicken Penni Pasta said:
It also would pick up thermal energy easier,
Which physical property are you basing this on?
The only liquid that's better than water (That I know of) is mercury.
Everyone likes to say this, but again, based on what properties?

HeThatKnows said:
Which physical property are you basing this on?
Everyone likes to say this, but again, based on what properties?

Mercury, being a METAL, has INCREDIBLY higher thermal transfer abilities than water. However the fact that it is very HEAVY makes it a chore to pump around, not to mention it can kill you or make your brain mushy over time. Very poisonous to life as you know it.

Mercury is just a metal that happpens to be melted at the temperatures humans survive at.

TheRapture said: