absurd question about networking and routers

AngryJim

Limp Gawd
ok long story short is that I'm a college student whose apartment lease ended the other day, so in order to keep my job I've been forced to stay in a hotel til my next apartment opens up (august 18th), going that long without internet is going to suck. The hotel I am at has wireless internet, but I do not have any money laying around for a wireless card (remember, broke college student).

Is there any way to program/hack a linksys wireless router to function as a wireless card and deliver internet to my desktop?

I'm gonna go put on my flamesuit, thanks.
AngryJim :mad:

Not sure, but can't you simply connect an ethernet cable to your wireless router and use that as an access point to receive the wireless signals and transport them to your PC via the ethernet cable??? If I remember correctly, that worked for me when I played with wireless...
If not, NewEgg has lots of USB and PCI wireless adaptors for under $30.

Some wireless routers can act as a client. Most of the time it's called bridging in the setup. You just have to find out if your router supports bridging. If not, you may be able to use a hacked firmware for it that does support bridging.

Yes...if the model Linksys router you have supports it. "Bridging" mode. If you have a wrt54g...3rd party firmware such as Hyper-WRT and DD-WRT perform even better.

PanzerKrieg13 said:
Not sure, but can't you simply connect an ethernet cable to your wireless router and use that as an access point to receive the wireless signals and transport them to your PC via the ethernet cable???

That's exactly what I'm trying to do, I may have worded it poorly. I do not have the manual for the router anymore, but I'll get the model number in a few minutes.

For anyone wondering how I am accessing the forums, I'm at work and for some reason hardforum isn't blocked by the company.

EDIT: Ok the model number is WRT54G v.3, I'm going to look up the manual online right now.