A serious OS stuttering issue

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by kakureru, Sep 11, 2017.

  1. kakureru

    kakureru [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,815
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    what is annoying is latency mon keeps pointing to Micosoft mappers like HDaudiobus, ndis, and directx which is probably why no matter what device i change and whatever driver i use, its still broken

    its like a bucket filling up and when it gets to the top, everything goes to crap.
     
  2. Daleon

    Daleon Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    191
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Ah. I think he did that previously in troubleshooting the problem but not since starting this thread as the video he posted did not look like a new install. If its been done recently though then it probably won't matter. Axe's suggestion could help.
    Can you list a specific page that causes the issue?

    You don't have any issues until latency builds up? When its low you can go to the trouble pages and not have any issues? But you said if you don't surf you don't have any problems. So is surfing what is causing the latency to continue to build and if you don't surf it doesn't grow?

    Have you run memtest86?

    As odd as it sounds, maybe a dedicated soundcard could help.
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2017
  3. kakureru

    kakureru [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,815
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    pages that over use web aps like ebay, yoube and or things with ads. It seems to be things with complex web aps that control page layouts and or delivery of ads. and no, adblock does not help. surprisingly facebook not as bad unless I start scrolling allot same with g+

    latency does not build up if im not surfing web, and even if its terrible and stuttering OS, if I close the browsers, I can do anything else fine with no stuttering. all mem tests out fine.
     
  4. Daleon

    Daleon Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    191
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Whats really strange you say reboot doesn't clean up the latency? You have to reinstall a driver and that immediately drops the latency or reinstall then reboot?
    What about a cold boot? All the way to pulling plug for 10-15 seconds?
     
  5. kakureru

    kakureru [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,815
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    hot, warm, cold reboot, does not matter.Driver reloads require a restart and Video takes longer to fill up than network, sound fills up the fastest. If i knew what the F was filling up, i dont mind emptying it every day. ive tried purging anything that resembles a cache
     
  6. H2R2P2

    H2R2P2 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    148
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
  7. kakureru

    kakureru [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,815
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    the original windows 10 1 year anniversary update.

    (but there is a very good chance it is a part of my problem at this moment based on reading about this)
     
  8. RedWagnum

    RedWagnum Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    425
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Just throwing stuff out there... Have you tried Sysinternals' RAMMap? It gives you the option to empty various working sets and memory lists - kind of a RAM flush if you will. Worth a shot?
     
  9. kakureru

    kakureru [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,815
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    sound interesting. hope it works but i know my ram isnt topping off
     
  10. SolidBladez

    SolidBladez [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,149
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    What about trying an older OS such as Windows 7 or 8.1. If you don't have a key for either one, you can try the 90-day evaluation version which can at least give you an idea if it's the OS and not hardware related.
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  11. RedWagnum

    RedWagnum Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    425
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Not thinking so much about RAM filling up but rather some buffer somewhere in RAM filling up. Maybe RAMMap will clear it.
     
  12. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,883
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    type winver in the run box to see what build your using. You/We need to know this fact as its probably key to the problem.
    type winver in the run box to see what build your using. You/We need to know this fact as its probably key to the problem.
     
  13. kakureru

    kakureru [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,815
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    v1703 build 15063.608
     
  14. Elf_Boy

    Elf_Boy [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,700
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    You could make a bootable Linux USB stick.

    Test away with no permanent change to the system.
     
  15. kakureru

    kakureru [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,815
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    i actually have a HDD with linux on it (wont dual boot) and it runs fine. Unfortunately everything i need to operate is in windows 10
     
  16. Azrak

    Azrak Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    478
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
  17. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,883
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    For what its worth....your definitely using Version 1703 (Creators Update) and fully patched (patch Tuesday)
    Im kinda thinking its some kind of bug/compatibility glitch with the build your using. The real question is what to do about it? You could go back to the AU update and disable updates? Or maybe they possably fix the glitch in Fall update
    Im personally using Insider/ Fast Ring/ Skip Ahead 1703 16281.1000 issue free
     
  18. kakureru

    kakureru [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,815
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Bios is up to date. The problem is this problem (with people on the net who also deals with this) is all over the place with seemingly random all over the place solutions.
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2017
  19. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,883
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Got to rule them all out one after another!
     
  20. kakureru

    kakureru [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,815
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    agreed. i think right now im just short of buying expensive parts i simply can not afford.
     
  21. ChoGGi

    ChoGGi Gawd

    Messages:
    814
    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Well this won't fix your problem, but if you grab a copy of devcon from the WDK; you can easily stop/start devices/classes.
    devcon.exe restart =net
    devcon restart "USB\VID_0B05&PID_180D&MI_00"

    Anything show up in the event viewer when or around when it happens?
    btw what does your network adapter have in the way of settings in devmgmt?
    Are you running Driver Verifier (verifier.exe>delete existing settings)?
    You could keep an eye on task manager and see if anything strange shows up.

    I do use Win7, so I'm just throwing stuff out there :)
    Not that it'll help, but what happens if you run a copy of say Linux in a VM (load up that Linux install you have in Virtualbox), and browse the net in it. Does the stutter happen in the VM?

    Edit: Running Bitdefender or some internety firewally antimalwarey software (I use the term software lightly)?
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2017
  22. kakureru

    kakureru [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,815
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Ah, have not seen this one on the interwebs before. I will give this a shot Thanks!
    but if i have to kill my video card, all bets of off ;)

    the start and stop devices, not the VMware thing
     
  23. ChoGGi

    ChoGGi Gawd

    Messages:
    814
    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    well the restart command starts and stops it in one go (I used it when my eyefinity setup was giving me issues).
    That said if you can't open up a cmd prompt without being able to see anything on the screen shame on you ;)
     
  24. Elf_Boy

    Elf_Boy [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,700
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Usually not - however it can happen if the system is waiting for data that isnt coming.

    Like how the floppy drive can make windows hang/freeze during activity.
     
  25. Axehandler

    Axehandler Gawd

    Messages:
    541
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    curious - does it matter WHICH Browser your using?
     
  26. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,843
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    yup
     
  27. Axehandler

    Axehandler Gawd

    Messages:
    541
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    thanks missed that....
    other questions....

    What is your internet connection?
    Is the problem web based only? or can you replicate it other ways?

    if it is web page only - does the number of pages matter?
    if it is NOT web pages only.. can you replicate it with Torrenting a large LINUX kernel?

    if you tossed a bunch of web pages on your NAS and opened them all with your browser, does that cause the same issue?

    Have you looked into a TCP optimizer? Such as = https://www.speedguide.net/downloads.php
    (suggested only due to the advanced nature of the issue - Win 10 networking is generally fine)
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2017
  28. st4rk

    st4rk Gawd

    Messages:
    741
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Time to fire up procmon. Let it run and whenever the stuttering happens mark the exact second of the minute it happened, stop procmon and go back to that time and see what was running.
     
  29. kakureru

    kakureru [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,815
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    it appears to be software that runs on web pages, the more interactive it is, the more stuttering. (this is speculation)
     
  30. ChoGGi

    ChoGGi Gawd

    Messages:
    814
    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    So, did you try removing any 3rd-party anti- virus/malware/firewall software?
     
  31. gigaxtreme1

    gigaxtreme1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,917
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Gotta be flash. That stuff is terrible
     
  32. kakureru

    kakureru [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,815
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    i did not install flash. this got real bad right after the recent HTML5 and webkit push. (more speculation) yes, i have tried this with no 3rd party virus / firewalls including nothing at all.
     
  33. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,843
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    have you tried an ad-blocker. i have issues with several pages where the ads bring everything to a grinding halt. msn was doing it to me this morning.
     
  34. kakureru

    kakureru [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,815
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    ill try that but ad blockers keep blocking non ads in some of the things I do.
     
  35. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,843
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
  36. kakureru

    kakureru [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,815
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    dont want to go into detail but its a little more complex than that (for me)
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  37. kakureru

    kakureru [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,815
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    narrowed it down to; If I have to do anything that resembles resetting the video card driver, problem goes away for hours to a day. (any video card, AMD, nVidia or intel.)
     
  38. Elf_Boy

    Elf_Boy [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,700
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Could be an IRQ conflict - you can check if the IRQ is shared in the device manager.

    Devices can be reassigned so check after a reset and check again when stuttering.

    What PCI devices are installed?
     
  39. kakureru

    kakureru [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,815
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    yea, I read about that but the windows 10 or the bios has not options to actually bump anything "critical" around.
    I am curious about what exactly is filling up for computer to work perfectly and then slowly get worse until it unbearable.
     
  40. ChoGGi

    ChoGGi Gawd

    Messages:
    814
    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    I don't suppose you've done any fiddling about with your swapfile?