8port or 16 port 10gb switch for copper

trinimoses

n00b
hi all,

I am looking at doing some upgrades to my home office and i was looking at getting either 1 or 2 TS-879 Pro (Qnap9) and upgrading the nics to 10bg nics.. .but my problem is where can i get a suitable 8port or 16port switch for these..

I have never worked with 10gb stuff before ..so i am looking for advise on what switchs i can get..

I will be mainly doing Vitrualization and data management on it.

Please advise.

Its going to be quite expensive you know? they cost thousands of $

I thihnk Netgear do a 10Gbps ProSafe not sure how good it is though

Since you mention home office and using low end NAS I've got to ask. What's your budget? I ask because there are no consumer grade 10G switches. There are no 4 port 10G switches for under 5K, with corp discounts, that I know of much less 8 or 16 port. For 8 and 16 port switches you're looking at a chassis with 10G line cards + SFP+ modules.

Trunking 2 Decent 4-port 1Gb NIC interfaces (effective 8Gb/s) > single 10Gb/s

Chepaer and built-in fault tolerance.

Or if you want to actually be reasonable and realize your Server, NAS, whatever probably has maximum Disk Read/write of somewhere between 150-400MB/s, you don't need 10Gb for anything other than a corporate LAN backbone.

Direct connect is the cheapest way to get to 10gb....

You can get a large switch that does gigabit and has maybe 2 10gb ports on it, that's what we do with our cisco switches, the 10gb is used for uplink to another switch. Still talking THOUSANDS of dollars here, even refurbished....

Hell a 4-port 1gb card is several hundred dollars!

Trinimoses, don't listen to these tools- I can get you a 10Mb HUB for a good price- M is after G in the alphabet, so you know it spanks. The problem with a switch here, is a switch will try and muscle-out your other computers. I bet you have other computers that want some storage lovin' too, right? A hub spreads the love to everything connected to it.