6990 over clocking

Discussion in 'AMD Flavor' started by Cataulin, Sep 12, 2014.

  1. Cataulin

    Cataulin [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,085
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Guys,

    I finally got a twin turbo for my 6990 and it is indeed amazing. I've been trying to over clock it past 880 and 1250 but Im using 3D mark and everything seems to crash. If it doesnt crash before it completely freezes the computer after skippping the first video. Im at 20% pcs and at a regular 1175 on voltage. Should I go up in voltage before trying to go up on the clocks?? Also this only seems to happen to 3Dmark and not any other games I play like D3 Skyrim an deadspace.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. rc3ilynt

    rc3ilynt Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    222
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    How far can you clock it before this happens? Small overclocks shouldn't need an increase in voltage from what I remember. Did you have this problem before you installed the new cooler? When I had it, the core temps were amazing after the install but the VRM temps went into the 90s at times and overall those were worse than the stock blower cooler by a decent amount. I have no idea how 3dmark affects these temps as I've never tried it myself. I'm also assuming you had the bios switch turned to the higher clocked one instead of a manual clock as 880/1250 1175 should be stock. I gamed with mine at around 950/1400 without any problems.
     
  3. blade|master

    blade|master n00b

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    You should be able to overclock to 900 MHz easy with a little extra voltage. You just need to make sure the GPU and VRMs are cool.
     
  4. Cataulin

    Cataulin [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,085
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Highest I've seen the GPU's in speedfan is 62 C. I don't know exactly where to look for the VRMs though. Should I be using other temp software besides speed fan?

    Straight gaming is no issue. Switch is at spot 1. D3 and any other game I play run flawlessly at 950/1400 for me.
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2014
  5. Cataulin

    Cataulin [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,085
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    I was able to stablize everything using this setup:
    http://imgur.com/L4Z3yO0

    I was really worried about playing with the voltage but it seems without water this is the max this card can do after a small .25 bump. Which is odd as I've seen higher speeds while google searching.
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2014
  6. rc3ilynt

    rc3ilynt Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    222
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Looks good. You'd need to use GPU-Z for VRM temps. Should be under sensors.
     
  7. new2019

    new2019 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,472
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    That card gets very hot and loud so you should not try to oc her very much.
     
  8. Cataulin

    Cataulin [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,085
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    I've got a twin turbo on it now. never gets past 65C.
     
  9. runudownquick

    runudownquick Gawd

    Messages:
    832
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Any chance you could post a pic of it with the AC TT on?

    I've seen several 6990s locally for very cheap ($80-120) and was thinking of getting one for giggles. Just a little worried about clearance as I might have to use my Antec 300 for the build. And I love pics.
     
  10. Cataulin

    Cataulin [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,085
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    give me a day or two. I've got to get under my desk and take apart the beast. I needed to do it anyways. Just got a lot on my plate currently.
     
  11. Cataulin

    Cataulin [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,085
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    okay, between this heavy as card and my heavy ass antec 1200 I am winded. Pics will be up shortly. Its such a tight fit in there.(thats what she said).

    link to pics: http://jerameatsr.imgur.com/
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2014
  12. runudownquick

    runudownquick Gawd

    Messages:
    832
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Haha wicked thanks. Running that setup at work I guess? Looks badass, small bezels and all. Cheers!
     
  13. Ryujin Jakka

    Ryujin Jakka n00b

    Messages:
    23
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    overclock the card in small steps. I remember i was overclocking when i was asic mining and the profile got set perfect on 780 and 1250 and i was getting 1 mhz of hashing power
     
  14. Cataulin

    Cataulin [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,085
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    No problem. This is actually my home computer. just no room at home for it just yet. it runs so freaking quiet. The only thing I've noticed issue wise is a weird shaking or lag in game which is caused by shadows. Turn them off and all is well. I can actually run Bioshock infinte on high to very high settings. Another physical issue is the damn weight of the card. I had to counter balance it by zip tying a power cable to the case to hold it up. The slot its in now is actually bent. I wonder if that is part of my overclock issue. I would love to upgrade it but money is tight right now.
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2014
  15. runudownquick

    runudownquick Gawd

    Messages:
    832
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Ah yes, so many cards these days have such monstrously large and effective heatsinks, that this is an often overlooked long term issue. A backplate certainly helps the card itself from warping but what helps the motherboard? Good idea on the zip tie. It might be necessary for people building rigs from scratch now too.

    I'd doubt that it's affecting your cards OC though. Dual gpu cards often have not been sky high clockers and it seems you're finally gotten high enough on yours. If you have an old gpu laying around try and sell your 6990. I'm sure there will be many 780s going used for cheap soon if not already. Barring that hopefully cheap R9 290s.