6600k high idle temps

Discussion in 'Intel Processors' started by 50Cal, Dec 2, 2017.

  1. 50Cal

    50Cal Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    172
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Okay, so maybe i was spoiled with with the glorious 2500k, but holy hell these idle temps are driving me crazy.

    setup:

    6600k 4.1Ghz@1.24V delidded with CL liquid ultra and an H100i V2 cooling it.

    The pump is running at its highest settings and fans at about 900rpm

    Under less than 10% load my idle temps are 40-45C (21C ambient)

    After i first delid my idle temps where about mid-30's but they've been rising ever since with no change to voltage or fan curves. I delidded again no issues with the liquid ultra hardening or anything like that. Same temps of about 40-45C at idle.

    One thing to note is that i never reapplied any sealant, so there is no gaps.

    Is this right? Do these chips normally run this hot? I've been a bit out of the loop but just a bit of research and all i hear is that everyone is delidding intels latest CPUs because of the shitty tim they use.


    my 2500k at a higher voltage would be in the 23-26C with just a h100.
     
  2. Krenum

    Krenum [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,938
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Seems a bit warm, my 6700K idles at 24c with a Noctua NHD15 (not delidded). Maybe try going to one of those, It'll be less noisey & higher fan speeds.

    What are you using to measure the temps? Don't rule out false readings.
     
  3. 50Cal

    50Cal Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    172
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Corsair link, gigabyte software, and msi afterburner all with-in a degree of one another.
     
  4. Krenum

    Krenum [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,938
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Hmm ok, check to see if a program is running in the background that's working over your processor.
     
  5. 50Cal

    50Cal Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    172
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    nothing really. Cpu load when im doing nothing other than running chrome/youtube is 10%

    Im wondering if at this point my cpu is just junk and get another one. Or wait for cannonlake.
     
  6. Speedeu4ia

    Speedeu4ia Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    172
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Since they've rising I suspect the cooler
     
  7. Krenum

    Krenum [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,938
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Its very likely its the cooler, those AIO's are junk. Buy a Noctua D12 or 15 & report back.
     
  8. bboynitrous

    bboynitrous 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,519
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Something isn't right with the setup. On my 6700k at idle with an H80i and just chrome up in the summer is around 30-35C tops. Right now in winter I'm idling around 25C at around 975rpm's on both fans. What are your temps at stock?
     
  9. Araxie

    Araxie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,835
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    That's still load.. and not considered idle state as at 10% CPU load the CPU will be at load clock and load voltage. The first thing to check it's if the GPU it's at idle clocks and idle voltage If you are using adaptive/offset, if you are using fixed voltage it's normal that it will idle at higher temps.
     
  10. Nebulous

    Nebulous [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,178
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    I'm thinking that H100i V2 is faulty. Maybe lack of fluid inside not topped out, pump isn't spinning or the coldplate is warped and not making good contact.
     
    Furious_Styles likes this.
  11. Krenum

    Krenum [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,938
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    He's right a 10% load would give you around that 45c "idle" temp. I'm still thinking theirs something in the background that's working your processor.
     
  12. Speedeu4ia

    Speedeu4ia Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    172
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    I have a win10 pc with a Dell printer and the print spooler(iirc) will act funny and keep the cpu from idle(thinking 10%load) making it about 45c. It's a 4460 on stock cooler.

    It didn't have an issue on win7, only when I switched to win10

    Are you running fixed voltage with eist/c states off? Or does it idle down to 800mhz. @ .8v?
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2017 at 9:16 AM
  13. Furious_Styles

    Furious_Styles Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    467
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Agree with nebulous. Most likely you have a problem with your AIO cooler. Either you're applying too much/little compound, it's not seated well, or it simply isn't functioning correctly. If you have a back up to throw on there you should see if the idle temp changes any.
     
    Nebulous likes this.
  14. Araxie

    Araxie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,835
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Im skeptical with the broken coolers only due the simple fact that OP isn't complaining about LOAD temps. only IDLE, a problem with the Cooler that can cause high IDLE temps will overheat under load and possibly cause throttling which isn't mentioned by the OP.
     
    Nebulous and Speedeu4ia like this.
  15. 50Cal

    50Cal Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    172
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Thats why i was concerned. under load i get to about 60C (not sure if this is still considered warm with these cpus) or so. Buti dont get any kind of throttling, hard locks, of BSOD.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2017 at 4:27 PM
  16. 50Cal

    50Cal Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    172
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Every time i've removed the cooler i look at the spread of compound. I get a good even spread across the whole surface and i use the same amount of thermal compound and cooler application method i've been using in all my 20 years of pc building. I think i have an old h100 that i was using with 2500k laying around.

    As far as the pump goes. i know its running and moving fluid. And the fluid going back to the pump is cold. Granted im doing this by touch but, the pump is clearly moving heat away and returning cold.
     
  17. Araxie

    Araxie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,835
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Then its certainly related to background apps, voltage and core clocks.. I suggest to close everything and keep only open CPU-Z to monitor clock and voltages under idle conditions.. a truly idle state, everything closed with only the desktop doing nothing.. you can leave it for about 4 or 5 minutes and the clock should drop to 800mhz and voltage to about 0.800 depending on your bios condition, also worth to check the windows power plan, in performance mode the cpu won't downclock, and voltage will stay a bit higher..

    Also, have you enabled in bios C Power states? Are you using fixed voltage? Or adaptive/offset?..

    All of this kind of things will cause higher idle temps.. also you have to stay sure that each core it's close to 0 usage before consider idle.. a CPU at 10% it's still considered load so all cores can still be loaded doing something.. check what's using the CPU.
     
  18. Furious_Styles

    Furious_Styles Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    467
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Try the H100 and see if there's a difference. Araxie could be correct so it's always good to double check what he is saying. Also 60C is low at load, you've got ~30C to the upside there.
     
  19. 50Cal

    50Cal Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    172
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    i should have mentiond that i get around 60 or so under gaming. 85C with prime95.
     
  20. 50Cal

    50Cal Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    172
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    All my c states are disabled and running a fixed voltage 1.323v . Although i really need to think about turning them on just for efficiency sake. I'll run some more tests.
     
  21. Araxie

    Araxie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,835
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    lol.. no wonder why high IDLE temp, there's no issues with your machine, you should had stated that in the first Post. so you disabled all power saving features, with a Fixed HIGH voltage and for any reason you was expecting low IDLE temperatures?. 1.323 it's very very high for a 6600K with such low overclock..
     
    CAD4466HK and Speedeu4ia like this.
  22. Furious_Styles

    Furious_Styles Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    467
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Yeah I highly recommend using turbo boost/eist with offset voltage.
     
  23. Araxie

    Araxie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,835
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    and all C states, and C package enabled. which are exactly power saving features for IDLE states.
     
  24. Speedeu4ia

    Speedeu4ia Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    172
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    I only use the offset voltage. I used it before it was a thing with some software that I forgot.

    If you don't like it going down to 800mhz(which I don't) in windows power management you can set the minimum cpu to higher.

    On my 7700k I set 40% min, which only let's it go down to 1.7ghz @ .7v

    You'll want to lock that lower power state by setting 40% for high and low and stress test that also but I doubt you'll have an issue
     
  25. Furious_Styles

    Furious_Styles Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    467
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Any reason for that? I've done default 800mhz and never really had a problem. With the 7700K you probably want to use offset with an adaptive one as well for AVX loads. My current mobo doesn't support it otherwise I certainly would use it.
     
  26. Speedeu4ia

    Speedeu4ia Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    172
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017

    I don't have adaptive for avx either

    I like to just set it to power save locked at 1.7ghz(min and max 40%) for web browsing and daily computing. Then I just switch to high power locked at 100% for any gaming/ect.. 800mhz is a little sluggish(ssd performance iops are affected) and my old 3570k min was 1.6 and worked fine for browsing. I had amanual fan controller so I could leave all fans off except cpu to cut down on dust/ect, then I would flip the fans on and set to high power and game. No I have motherboard based fan control so its automatic.

    I guess I could set min to 1.7 and max to 70% but then i would have to stress test at 70% at whatever voltage it gives me at that. The original way I would stress test each jump also. I'm using a -.065v offset as my board defaults to 1.32-1.34v with offset. Will prob set the balanced profile to this
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2017 at 6:15 PM
  27. Furious_Styles

    Furious_Styles Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    467
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Well sir I have good news... I checked the manual and if you're still using that Z270 Gaming 5 it indeed does have an AVX offset! The thing about the 800mhz though is usually it is only that low if you aren't even using the computer. I find that if you do anything usually a few cores will quickly ramp up.
     
  28. Speedeu4ia

    Speedeu4ia Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    172
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    It has avx offset, but I thought you meant some sort of adaptive voltage for avx?

    I currently have no need for avx offset, ran aidi64 at 1.7 and at 4.8 stable, temps barely hit 80c

    I know it ramps quick, Im more limiting power consumption by not having it ramp up every new tab or web page I go to. But I do have auto fan control now so I may leave it on a balance power setting now with 70% max
     
  29. Furious_Styles

    Furious_Styles Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    467
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    You're actually using more by making the minimum so high. It's probably chump change anyways though just was curious if it was for a real reason or just your own personal preference. Does aida64 use AVX? I know it's one of the weaker synthetic benches as far as temps/stress goes.
     
  30. Speedeu4ia

    Speedeu4ia Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    172
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    hmm I thought so, maybe it was OCCT, that triggered AVX but temps dont go crazy on OCCT

    I'm still at .7v just like I would be at 800mhz, my computer with 4x 140mm fans idles at 42watts at the wall, my PSU isnt any more effecient at less than 10% load any way so thats a wash