5960X $888

Discussion in '[H]ot|DEALS' started by Sheppard, Sep 12, 2014.

  1. Sheppard

    Sheppard [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,199
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2014
  2. JaiWebb

    JaiWebb Gawd

    Messages:
    601
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Good dead indeed.
     
  3. Sheppard

    Sheppard [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,199
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    lmao stupid auto correct. I posted that on my phone when I saw it.
     
  4. chimera991

    chimera991 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,094
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Combine this with the new gtx 980/970 and youll still be under 400w. Would it be possible to run a 500w psu?
     
  5. Ultra Wide

    Ultra Wide [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,397
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    11% off and just released!

    Good find!
     
  6. tacos4me

    tacos4me Gawd

    Messages:
    774
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    oh man. i was trying to talk myself out of buying one of these, but i can't do it at this price. thanks! :p
     
  7. ccityinstaller

    ccityinstaller [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,229
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    You would be begging for trouble even if you were using a top of the line Platinum rated PSU IMO..If you plan to OC the CPU from it's insanely slow 3Ghz base clock (it appears even the worst samples are hitting 4Ghz) then the CPU will easily pull 220W+, not including the MB, drives, fans, and the GPU..

    I wouldn't go with anything less then an 850W myself, since the prices are not insane, and it leaves you plenty of headroom if you have a good OC'ing chip (note @ 4.5Ghz the CPU pulls over 330W of power) and your GPU has the same OC headroom the 750TI offered.
     
  8. gigatexal

    gigatexal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,249
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    I've got a Silverstone 1.5kw psu so I should be good. But thats just too much cpu for.my needs right now. Great price though.
     
  9. tacos4me

    tacos4me Gawd

    Messages:
    774
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    would anyone that lives near a frys be interested in picking up another one of these for me? will tip well :D
     
  10. gigatexal

    gigatexal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,249
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    i'm near the one in wilsonville OR, if you send me the money to buy it, and ship it to you, i will

    heat under dualboot_2xcpu
     
  11. Teenyman45

    Teenyman45 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,325
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    I really, really hate when stores change their sales without updating the emailed advertisements. I had been waiting for the Rampage V to come back into pretty much anywhere, but went to frys.com to buy the chip today and it is now "In Store Pickup Only."

    Say "The sale has ended early due to demand" or "We are sold out" but not changing the sale while still running an advertisement that you do not intend to honor upsets me.

    This is would have been my first purchase from Frys, but instead I get the sort of crap that caused me to stop buying from Newegg.
     
  12. tacos4me

    tacos4me Gawd

    Messages:
    774
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    yep. bad practice, kinda pissed me off too. i figured they'd sell out, so i called to ask them this past weekend if they'd take backorders at that price, and they told me they would. of course they're not. :rolleyes:

    microcenter has them for $900 in store fyi, if you/someone you know live near one.
     
  13. Teenyman45

    Teenyman45 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,325
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Well that's only a ~1,200 mile round trip Frys store would have only been about ~1,150 miles away. Think of what I'd save on gas! Also think about what I'll save on impulse tech buys by deciding to never bother shopping from Frys's website either.
     
  14. ccityinstaller

    ccityinstaller [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,229
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    I am going to MicroCenter in Towson, MD on Friday to pick up my Haswell-E combo..I am taking my father along since he has an appointment at the VA hospital in Baltimore, so I could get him to pick up a CPU for someone..Keep in mind MD has 6% sales tax..
     
  15. Net Prowler

    Net Prowler [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,040
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    I can check at a local frys for anyone who is interested. I know some people there so I am pretty sure I will be able to get an accurate inventory as well as not having to deal with any crap. PM me if interested. I am almost certain sale ends Thursday (last day).
     
  16. Stiletto

    Stiletto [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,430
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Why would you risk $2000+ worth of electronics on a $50 power supply? Where's the logic in that?
     
  17. darkunitzero

    darkunitzero Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    264
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    He was just asking if it would be possible to run on 500w.

    Also, just because the PSU is cheap doesn't mean it's crap. There are plenty of PSU in the $50 range that do very well. First thing that comes to mind is the Corsair CX500 that got very favorable reviews and comes to ~$29.99 after rebate.

    But to answer the original question, I would run approx 600w. Depending on the PSU and where it is most efficient, this will allow room for expansion later and keep the load between closer to 50% than 80%.