5500XT with 6-pin...anyone know of one?

/dev/null

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
Mar 31, 2001
Messages
14,397
Does anyone know of any 6-pin (power) ONLY 5500XT? Does such a beast exist?

I did a little browsing through newegg but didn't find one after look at ~ 8 cards or so.
 

Auer

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 2, 2018
Messages
1,356
Can't you use an adapter if all you have is 6pin? I did on my R580 and also do it with a RTX2070, in a Dell T3600 workstation that doesnt have 8pin outs.
 

vegeta535

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 19, 2013
Messages
3,691
Honestly you should just get a new PS if it lacks a 8 pin. Would a adapter work? Sure but given that his psu doesn't have a 8 means it is really old or very cheap and I wouldn't trust that psu to power a 5700xt.
 

sirmonkey1985

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
21,763
Does anyone know of any 6-pin (power) ONLY 5500XT? Does such a beast exist?

I did a little browsing through newegg but didn't find one after look at ~ 8 cards or so.
unlikely since it seems like 8 pin power connectors have now become the standard even on cards that pull far less than what you'd need an 8 pin for.

Honestly you should just get a new PS if it lacks a 8 pin. Would a adapter work? Sure but given that his psu doesn't have a 8 means it is really old or very cheap and I wouldn't trust that psu to power a 5700xt.
he's asking about the 5500XT which pulls a maximum of 135w if using furmark and averages around 100-110w in game which is well below the 150w combined maximum of the 75w 6 pin connector and 75w pcie slot power draw.

edit: corrected max power draw limit on card.
 
Last edited:

auntjemima

[H]ardness Supreme
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
5,640
Can't you use an adapter if all you have is 6pin? I did on my R580 and also do it with a RTX2070, in a Dell T3600 workstation that doesnt have 8pin outs.
Do not do this.

An 8 pin connector supplies 150w and a 6 pin offers 75w. If you use an adapter the card is going to have the potential to pull twice what they connector and WIRE is designed to do. It may work, as the card may pull only around the 75w anyway, but should it require more, it's a fire hazard.
 

Auer

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 2, 2018
Messages
1,356
Do not do this.

An 8 pin connector supplies 150w and a 6 pin offers 75w. If you use an adapter the card is going to have the potential to pull twice what they connector and WIRE is designed to do. It may work, as the card may pull only around the 75w anyway, but should it require more, it's a fire hazard.
I should have clarified my T3600 has 2 6pins adapted in to one 8 pin via an adapter.
 

noko

[H]ardness Supreme
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
4,664
Different type of adaptors:
https://graphicscardhub.com/graphics-card-pcie-power-connectors/

The 75w rating for the 6 pin plug is way underrated and can carry more in itself but the power supply may not be able to. The best option would be two pcie 6 going into a single 8 pin pcie plug adaptor. For a good power supply I would not even think twice in going from 6 pin to 8 pin with a quality adaptor.
 
Last edited:

Snowdog

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
Apr 22, 2006
Messages
10,062
Do not do this.

An 8 pin connector supplies 150w and a 6 pin offers 75w. If you use an adapter the card is going to have the potential to pull twice what they connector and WIRE is designed to do. It may work, as the card may pull only around the 75w anyway, but should it require more, it's a fire hazard.
This is hysteria.

You can use a straight up 6pin to 8 pin converter. Since 99% of 6 pin PSU connectors already have 3 12v power conductors.

Not only that, but the power handling is underrated to a totally silly degree. You could easily pull 200 watts on 2 conductors without starting a fire.

If you are worried that you have 6 pin that doesn't already have 3 12v conductors. Just check it. Does it already have 6 wires?? Then you are golden. Just get a simple single 6pin to 8pin converter. FWIW my 12 year old PSU, 6 pin only PSU has all 6 wires.

Check the wiring standard, image below. The ONLY concern is if you have PSU without pin 2 (where it says "see note"), and really I haven't actually seen an example of that yet. All the 8 pin adds is one more ground and one more sense pin (to let you know you have 8 pins). You don't need a 2 into 1 adapter. Just a one to one, 6 to 8 pin.

PCIe_pinout.png



One of these, is all you need:
https://www.amazon.com/Cable-Matters-2-Pack-6-Pin-Adapter/dp/B01DV1Z32Y?ref_=ast_sto_dp
 
Last edited:

/dev/null

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
Mar 31, 2001
Messages
14,397
Honestly you should just get a new PS if it lacks a 8 pin. Would a adapter work? Sure but given that his psu doesn't have a 8 means it is really old or very cheap and I wouldn't trust that psu to power a 5700xt.
It's a HP Workstation with proprietary power supply. Not easy to replace, and I want it as it has ecc support & I have 32GB ecc ram in there. It would make a decent gaming box with a newer card if I could just find one with a 6-pin connector. Not a huge fan of 6->8 pin adapters due to the reasons mentioned above. The power supply IIRC is 420w and the cpu is e3-1240 v3
 

Auer

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 2, 2018
Messages
1,356
It's a HP Workstation with proprietary power supply. Not easy to replace, and I want it as it has ecc support & I have 32GB ecc ram in there. It would make a decent gaming box with a newer card if I could just find one with a 6-pin connector. Not a huge fan of 6->8 pin adapters due to the reasons mentioned above. The power supply IIRC is 420w and the cpu is e3-1240 v3
Check your manual for a GPU power limit.

My T3600 manual states "With optional 635W power supply. Total allowed graphics power allowed in slot 2 is 225W. Total graphics power allowed in
system is 300W."

Your HP probably has something similar in its manual.
 

/dev/null

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
Mar 31, 2001
Messages
14,397
Check your manual for a GPU power limit.

My T3600 manual states "With optional 635W power supply. Total allowed graphics power allowed in slot 2 is 225W. Total graphics power allowed in
system is 300W."

Your HP probably has something similar in its manual.
Didn't see anything specific on that, but with my power supply model the quickspecs say it officially supports the FirePro W7100 which according to techpowerup has 150W tdp
 
  • Like
Reactions: Auer
like this

Snowdog

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
Apr 22, 2006
Messages
10,062
jerry rig an adapter or GTFO!
Simplest hack, is to just plug in the 6pin and jumper the two unused pins (4 and 8) together. But pretty sure this leaves you only fully utilizing 2 of the 3 ground conductors (pin 5 is sense). Still fine, but not the best you can do.

I expect the majority of 6 pin connectors are wired into the PSU as follows.

Pins 1,2,3 all connected to 12V
Pins 4,5,6 all connected to ground.
(Disclaimer: I would verify this for my specific PSU before wiring up my own custom adaptor).

That gives you 3 full pairs of conductors, same amount as gets utilized with 8 pin connector.


But on the card side Pin 5, is likely not connecting ground path to the PSU, as it's a sense pin.


I am not sure how the 6-8 pin adapters are wired, but if making a custom one, I would jump pin 6 (pin 5 from 6 pin perspective), to pins 4, and 8, and now the card will have 3 full 12V conductors and 3 fully utilized ground conductors. Exactly the same as you get out of native 8 pin.
 
Top