First, here's my system:

E6700 w/stock HS/F
Abit IP35 Pro
2x1 GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers DDR2-800
x1800 Crossfire Card
Maxtor PATA 160gb HD
Tagan GuardianX 1000w PSU
CoolerMaster Mystique Case
The case has one intake 120mm on the front, 1 exhaust 120mm on the back, 1 80mm intake blowing onto the CPU HS/F on the side. Case has good airflow.

I was a little disappointed with my 3DMark 06 score of 4910 when i built this system. I didn't know exactly what to expect, but i did expect more than that. So if figured i'd try a little OC to see if i couldn't get it at least over 5k.

I followed the great guide that is stickied above as i am a complete newbie to overclocking and this is my first attempt. I tried bumping the FSB up to 333 to give a 10x333 multiplier (hope i'm getting the jargon right), and it posted but wouldn't go into windows. So i bumped it down to a modest 300 to give a 10x300 and figured 3.0ghz would be a nice mild overclock for my system.

The RAM is set at a 1:1 ratio. I set the RAM timings at 5-5-5-15 and ran prime 95 for a couple of hours and it worked great. So i put the RAM timings at 4-4-4-12 and ran Prime 95 blend test last night for about 6 hours and it worked great. So i decided that i had a good and stable overclock - so i decided it was time to benchmark again as surely, i was much closer to the 5k mark.

Instead - it came up with 4859 - a drop of 60 points. Needless to say, i'm very disappointed now. Am i doing something wrong? Should the RAM not be set to 1:1 as i think that dropped the speed of the RAM a little from the default the motherboard put it at?

Thanks guys,
Chris

Well did you record what your cpu score was before you overclock it? What you need to do is go back to stock settings and record all the scores then overclock again and see if the cpu is actually losing points... I think you're getting about the right score with that video card.

Look online to see what 3DMark your PC should get.