3 Phase PDU at home

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by Hammer!, Mar 15, 2019.

  1. Hammer!

    Hammer! [H]Lite

    Messages:
    111
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Hi, I have a 3 phase 208v PDU which comes with a 4 prong L15-30 plug that I would like to use at home. is there a way to re-wire the plug and attach a new plug so it works on a standard home outlet? I tried wiring ground to ground, hot to one of the hots on the PDU and connecting neutral to the two remaining hots and that does not seem to work. The outlets on the PDU are 3 prong receptacles and so I’m thinking there must be a way? Thanks!
     
  2. extide

    extide 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,265
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    No. 208v comes from going across two of the three phases of 240v 3 phase power. Homes do not have 3 phase power. (You typically have split-phase 240v, but you still can't get 208v from that)

    You may have already damaged it by just blindly hooking stuff up.
     
    jmilcher likes this.
  3. Hammer!

    Hammer! [H]Lite

    Messages:
    111
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Right, I understand I won’t be able to get 208v...I was just trying to use it as a PDU for 120v devices.
     
  4. cdabc123

    cdabc123 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,171
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    most pdus are dumb enough that voltage doesnt matter too much. your pdu has 2 hot wires 1 neutral and one ground. to make it work at 240v take the two phases of 120v to each hot and the neutral/ground to the neutral/ground. to wire it for 120v just run one hot and run neutral to the other
     
  5. hitched

    hitched Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    206
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    He said it is a 3 phase with a 4 prong connector so there is a 3rd phase complicating things...


    As long as there is nothing digital should be fine with 120v but you most certainly not have power on some of the connectors on the pdu from the missing phase.

    Best bet here is if you are dead set on trying to use this thing is get a meter and probe around after throw power to one of the wires to see what and where it is wired....
     
  6. Hammer!

    Hammer! [H]Lite

    Messages:
    111
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011

    It’s are Dell 6607 if anyone is familiar with that. Would I be able to wire my one hot to all 3 hots on the PDU? I don’t think so and I am afraid to try!
     
  7. hitched

    hitched Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    206
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Just googled a picture of one and I really dont think there is anything you can do to get it working 100% without 3 power phases... you may be able to get it mostly working with your residential 208 tho and possibly just loose 1/3 of the plugs... really dont think it's even worth trying 120v...
     
  8. Hammer!

    Hammer! [H]Lite

    Messages:
    111
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Yeah, thanks. I took it apart and I can’t believe how complicated the inside is. Can possible get it to work by rewiring it, but unlikely without...Thank you.