20.1" Widescreen for gaming?

Rhyick

Weaksauce
I've read threads, sifted through reviews, and looked around at different types of monitors, but I really can't decide what monitor I'd like to get. I'm not an expert in the panel types, but I know the basics. It does get confusing, though, as to exactly how much improved the monitor response times in non-TN panels are in the TFT sticky at the top of the forum. The monitors I've looked at are Dell 2007WFP, SAMSUNG 205BW, ViewSonic VX2025WM, LG L204WT Monitor, Acer AL2051W. I have also looked at the NEC LCD20WGX2, but the price is a bit too high for me.

The most promising (gaming wise) I think is the AL2051W (it's even in Acer's gaming line if that means anything), and I like the glossy panel that it has. Also from what I've read, I've gathered that the Dell 2007WFP has ghosting and banding problems which are a minus for it.

Anyways, I was wondering if you guys had any suggestions as to what type of 20.1" monitor to get that is mainly for gaming but also has a good image quality? If it's not on the list that I mentioned above, that's fine too - I'll look into any suggestions. Oh, and my price range is about $400 or less.

Acer Ferrari F-20 falls into your price range (got mine for $389 shipped) it has an 8 bit S-IPS panel for better color reproduction than TN, overdrive to achieve 8ms g to g, and looks FREAKIN AWESOME. :cool: I play Flatout 2, NFSMW, AOE III, Quake 4, Oblivion on this monitor and everything looks fantastic...as far as ghosting I haven't noticed any. Response time affects the speed of the mouse/gamepad right? Well, I'm well on my way to finishing Flatout2 and playing through NFSMW for the 3rd time and it hasn't affected my game at all.