1U server case for htpc

JonnyK

2[H]4U
I'm wanting to build a media center pc just to run xp, XBMC software, and stream 1080p video to my Tv through hdmi. I was thinking of using this case :

DYNAPOWER USA EJ-1U500(B)-C Black Coating Heavy Duty Cold Rolled Electroplated Steel 1U Rackmount Server Case

I have never used a rack style case like this before but it says it's compatible with a standard atx motherboard. So i was wondering if a normal motherboard, ram, processor, heatsink (slim?) would work fine in the thing or if i'm making a mistake. Here's the full build that I was contemplating.

ASUS P5QPL-VM EPU LGA 775 Intel G41 HDMI Micro ATX

Athena Power AP-U1ATX40 1U 400W Server Power Supply - OEM

SILVERSTONE NT07-775 90mm CPU Cooler - Retail

Intel Pentium E5200 Wolfdale 2.5GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor

Western Digital Caviar SE WD3200AAJS 320GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5"

PNY 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667

The reason i'm wanting to build this is right now I'm using a Dell latitude D620 for this purpose and it has VGA out with a standard computer audio plug for stereo headphones going to my TV. It stutters once in a while while playing the high resolution video and I want HDMI out to get better video quality and real 5.1 sound. I also want to mount this up under the table that my TV sits on, or set it on the floor with my audio reciever and have it look decent. That's why i'm looking at the slim case instead of a fat little media pc case. Do you guys think this new setup would improve my performance, and would the stuff i picked fit into this rack case?

Thanks

Last edited:
Typically 1u case fans are extremely loud because they are so small they need to rotate at a very high speed to move any air.

I was just looking for something real thin like that. Would a 2u or something be better? Or would you say it's just not worth it to use a non-regular case like this