15 drive zfs pool, how would you split it?

Guldan

Weaksauce
Hey Guys,

Thanks to you guys i'm nearly done my setup, best tech forum on the internet. How would you guys split 15 x 750g drives in ZFS? I'm thinking just a Z2 but would you go so far as a Z3? or maybe Z2 w/ a hot spare? This is for media storage

They are enterprise drives with low usage but will run 24/7, although they are enterprise drives i'm still scared because there are 15 of them.

Let me know your thoughts, thanks!

Last edited:
I'm no ZFS expert but I'd just go with 5 sets of 3-drive raid-z's as they're enterprise drives and while raidz2 would give you fault tolerance for eons...I think you waste too much space going that route.

When determining how many disks to use in a RAIDZ, the following configurations provide optimal performance. Array sizes beyond 12 disks are not recommended.
Start a RAIDZ1 at at 3, 5, or 9, disks.
Start a RAIDZ2 at 4, 6, or 10 disks.
Start a RAIDZ3 at 5, 7, or 11 disks.
The recommended number of disks per group is between 3 and 9. If you have more disks, use multiple groups.

I was unaware 12+ disks are not recommended, perhaps I will do 11 disks +1 hot spare and have the others for backup/hot spare.p

Gigatexal what do you mean by 5 sets of raidz?

Can I do two seperate groups of 7 and stripe them? like a 1+0? I'm using freenas btw

I would do raidz3 with or without a spare.

The problem with using many disks in a VDEV, it takes long time to repair the zpool. But if you are using a media server, then there will hardly be any load, and you can close down other users while repairing. Thus, you loose performance with many disks, but that is no issue because it is a media server.

If you were to use the system in production, it would be better with two raidz2 and one spare - that would give much better performance.

Maybe you should benchmark each configuration with bonnie++? If you do, please report the numbers back here for discussion?