Zalman vf700-cu problems please help!

husker4life

Limp Gawd
I just got the zalman vf700-cu cooler and my temps are even worse than with stock cooling :mad: . I have it in silent mode my idle temp is 65c and load is 100c using rthrdrbl for 10 minutes or so. Something is definitely wrong here obviously, im a total noob on installing something like this but i followed the instructions carefully and figured it wasnt that difficult. I cleaned the gpu with isopropyl alcohol and q-tips, then i used AC5 thermal paste spread it all over using a credit card. Ive redone it 3 times now and i still cant get the temps down, is the cooler and gpu not making proper contact? To much or too little thermal paste? I really need some help here folks.

Athlon 64 [email protected]
Evga 6800GT 350/1000
Asus K8N-E Deluxe
1GB PC3200 XMS Corsair
Maxtor DiamondMax 10 300gb
Fortron Bluestorm 500w
Sony FW900 24 inch CRT

make sure the surface of both the GPU and HS/F are free of scratches and nicks, if they have any, try lapping the surface of both to get rid of the pits and what not. It could also be that since its a zalman, and zalmans are more designed to reduce noise than heat, that it may not really be doing so much to remove heat as it is to reduce sound. Also, you said you had it on quite mode...try turning it up.

Personally, i think you should have gone with the VF900, but thats just me.

yea - it really doesn't sound like it's installed right. make sure that you don't put too much thermal paste on... just a thiiiiiin layer.

I can't recall if my VF700 had a plastic cover over the mating surface of the heatsink, but you may want to ensure there isn't one on yours.

Definately sounds like something is up...

Good Luck!

If there WAS a plastic cover, I bet your temperatures would be a tad higher than that.

How much Thermal Paste'd you use?