What would be a good server for me?? (nOoB)

Tman

Gawd
Warning I am a nOoB :D

Ok I was just wondering if I was to buy or build a server for hosting either online games or lan games, what would you suggest I get? If i was going to use the server for online play UT2003, Ut2004, Halo, Call oF duty, and a few others. Also the number of players for those games would be below 20, nore like 10 to 15 really.

For lan games what woud you guys think would be my max player limit??

I really wouldnt like to go over $1,600 for one either

thanks guys

sorry for being such a noob :D

I wouldn't even bother with duals for something like that unless you plan on running all those servers at once on the same system.

dual athlon mp's are cheap enough that I'd go with that.

probably a limit around 32 on most games, but try it and see :D

Hell, just go to the forums at 2cpu.com and get a used dual p3 or two! (make sure they don't need registered ram or, if they do, to get some!)

ok, im gonna say it since no one else has. amd 64's! not sure of the price for dual MBs. there goes that idea :D

What are you going to be using for bandwidth? DSL Cable T1? Will it be hosted at the ISP?

Check your service providers contract, usually game servers are OK, but not web servers. (other ISP's like speakeasy let you host anything)

For the games you are listing you really do not need much. I have hosted a 10 player UT2k4 server with bots on a dual 450MHZ Xeon (with a gig of ram).

I would recommend a Dual board only because having one proc dedicated to a game and the other to the OS helps, and learn the dedicated server commands for each game.

The "bigger" a server you setup the more you could host on a LAN, but spend your money wisely, get a gig of RAM (or more if you want) in whatever you build, and use some decent hard drives.

==>Lazn

thanks man, that helped alot :)