Wait for Prescott or just buy a Northwood?

Im thinking about upgrading my cpu i have a fairly decent motherboard right now that i don't want to switch out anytime soon the Asus P4C800 deluxe. But i been hearing that the Prescott cpus on the 478 socket runs hot and isn't as fast as the equally clocked Northwood. But i was wondering if i was to overclock the prescott to lets say....3.9 to 4 from 2.8. Would it be worth it to buy it? I have watercooling by the way so heat isn't much of a problem for me.

good luck, i dont think its possible to get it that far and if you do, its going to be a water heater instead of a cpu

What CPU do you currently have?

If I were to buy a new CPU right now, it would be the Northwood.

If you need to upgrade now, I recommend getting a northwood and overclock it.

right now i have a willamette core P4 i bought the new motherboard when it was brand new in anticipation for a new cpu but i just recently saved enought money for the chip....yea im a student

If you are thinking about overclocking a prescott, I'd be sure to have a nice 400 watt or higher powersupply to go along with it.

Its already pulling 100watts at around 3ghz. Overvolt just a tiny bit and shoot for 4Ghz, and you will be pulling a good 150watts+ from the 12 volt line just for the processor. For reference, a Northwood 3.2C pulls 82 watts.

Uh, it's common knowledge that the Alderwood and Grantsdale chipsets have a Q2 release date. It's also known that the 3.6 LGA Prescott ships in April to compete with the socket 939 A64 3700+. You put two and two together. But since your majesty demands it and is too lazy to keep himself updated, I'm compelled to obey. :rolleyes:

http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/chipsets/display/20030415091834.html

http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/cpu/display/20040205093054.html