Testing my VPN

Liver

Supreme [H]ardness
I'm totally new to VPN and quite inexperienced with networking in general. I am trying to educate myself by reading guides and such.

My equipment. iPad original (updated and stock), i7 MBP updated, Linksys E4200, cable internet.

I'm trying to log on and control my MBP via my iPad. MBP would be at home and iPad with me on whatever wifi network (not 3G). Final goal would be to replicate this with a Mac mini (used as a server).

I've signed up and received an account with Dyndns.com (free account).

I've also inputted the account information into my router (under the ddns screen).

I've tried tunneling to my computer from the iPad when I'm at home (same network). Failure everytime. Is that even possible? I.e. Tunneling from same network.

I'm using google to find guides to help me through this but if you know of a solid guide please let me know. Any tips or advice on how to set up a VPN, or do what I am trying to do would be fantastic.

Trying to use the app Screens on my iPad to make the connection and the built in features of OSX as my server VPN.

Last edited:
Need more information. Are you using OS X server, are you using a 3rd party application? Do you have the ports on your router open to allow the particular protocols through? With the iPad are you connecting using the built in VPN app in the settings menu or a 3rd party application? Do you have a static route setup between the router and the MBP (sometimes needed)?

As far as the tunnel is concerned, no you can't connect to the WAN side of your tunnel while you are behind the same firewall.

Standard OSX that the MBP shipped with, fully updated.

As far as the MBP goes, not using any third party software. I've been reading about several free ones but nothing comes out as being superior on OSX. Any recommendations?

I have set up a static address for the MBP via the router. I left the settings onthe computer as is.