Smoothwall help

Ibanez3434

Bad Trader
ok, so this is my fourth damn attempt at smoothwall. Yes I'm a noob. Here's the setup, I have Comcast and it goes from the modem to the smoothwall PC, then out to the switch. Since my IP hasn't changed in months I put my external IP and said it was static. Can't really figure out y it isn't working. So if anybody has any suggestions, plz tell me.

I use IPCOP which is very very similar to Smoothwall. Did you try leaving Smoothwall up and running, while you turn your Cable Modem off for about 1-2 minutes? Try that, then after the modem is back up and running, restart the Smoothwall machine.

If that doesn't work. Reload Smoothwall and set it to DHCP, even if your ISP hasn't changed your IP in months.

First, as said above, even if the IP hasn't changed in months Comcast is almost always DHCP (unless you are paying for static IP).

Second, once you get the config of the Smoothwall box all set, unplug the power on the cable modem and count to ten, then plug it back in.

If that doesn't work you get to start doing things like basic connection testing (ping 127.0.0.1, then ping the external IP address, then the next hop up, etc...)

comcast typically uses motorolla surfboards.. it can only know one mac address, only the known mac address gets internet access, switching from the desktop to the smoothwall has confused the modem, hook the smoothwall back up, set it for dhcp, unplug the modem for a minute or so and then try it

ksanders2006 said:
You never mentioned anything about a default gateway. So I assume you input that info?
Acctually...no. I thought that was if you were connecting to a router, like when you want a static IP on your computer. ok, so what do I put there?

Veeb0rg said: