Roach's LCD Guide for Idiots in the 21st Century

R0achTheWarHero

Limp Gawd
Soooo, you are going to buy an LCD but you're like omg Roach I am a noob, what LCD should I buy? Well I'm glad you asked. First we will cover:

Size
-------
- 15inch - do they even make these anymore?
- 17inch 4:3 - waste of time
- 17inch 16:10 - is this a joke?
- 19inch 4:3 - pretty dumb idea considering how cheap bigger ones are
- 19inch 16:10 - wow you got ripped off
- 20inch 4:3 - the first panel to consider, if you don't want to spend a lot and like 4:3 aspect ratio this is your option, the vertical viewing height is just enough to not be irritating
- 20inch 16:10 - SEEMS like a good idea at first, later on you will notice the vertical height is too short and wish you got something else
- 22inch 16:10 - If you're a cheap ass and want the biggest screen per dollar spent ratio then this is your choice, also the smallest 16:10 screen that has a large enough vertical height to not drive you insane
- 24inch 16:10 - you will probably be considered a pretty kool dood if you got one of these, probably score lots of chicks or mantrains or whatever it is you do
- 26-27inch 16:10 - would recommend this over the 24 if you can afford it, same rez but the dot pitch difference isn't a problem at all
-30inch 16:10 - not recommended, price is high, backlight issues are bad, resolution is very high and requires dual link cable and video card, poor for gaming usually even if running SLI with 2 highend graphics cards, 26 or 27inch probably better choice even if you have the money for 30' unless you have to get an IPS screen because they are more abundant in 30inches than 26-27.

Panel Type, Ghosting Effects, Color/Contrast and Appearance:
----------------------------------------------------------------------------