Recomended book and hardware to pass CCNA (4 year network admin)

• Thread starter Deleted member 19858
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 19858

I have been a network admin now for about 4 years as a career. I have gone through college and done computers/networking for years prior. I finally want go get my CCNA so I have a few questions for those who have passed and have similar experiance. I have worked on Cisco hardware just am not an expert by any means but I can find my way around.

1. I just want to take a single test so I want to take the 640-801 but the 640-802 is coming out, should I take that instead or does it matter?

2. As far as a book goes, I am thinking about this one, should this be enough? http://www.amazon.com/CCNA-Official-Certification-Library-640-801/dp/1587201690/ref=pd_bbs_2/104-5631131-6452758?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1188779445&sr=8-2

3. As far as building a lab goes, what routers/switches would you suggest, to say I am on a budget is an understatement.

As an Amazon Associate, HardForum may earn from qualifying purchases.
Take the 801. I wouldnt bother with the 802 until people have had a chance to review the study material for it.

Coming from a Cisco guy, don't get the Cisco Press Official Study Guide. Get the Sybex. The CP book has a few too many errors in it.

I'd just get a sim for the CCNA. If you really want hardware, my recommendation would be finding a couple of cheap 2600/2500/1700 routers, and a couple of cheap 2950 or 2900/1900 series that run IOS.

Ya I figured the 802 would be too new, I have used some Sybex in the past but everyone says Cisco Press is good. Seems kinda ironic that a book written by a CCIE has errors in it.