Question about domains/active directory

cr9c1

Weaksauce
Greetings all,

I am fairly new to Windows Server 2003, but I have been getting pretty good with it as of late.

However, I would like to address one thing that bugs me. I have a few laptops that are connected to the domain but also leave the workspace occasionally. I understand that the laptops cache the domain data, but when I set up a new laptop or computer and first try to add it to the domain, it will not let me unless I assign the device a static ip. Once I give it a static IP, I can login in and what not with no problems. However, when I set the computer back to DHCP, I can still login but a different user cannot login, even though it has a connection to the server, but not a static IP address.

I hope you are following me here. I have all the computers that access the domain all the time setup with a static IP address, so this is not an issue. But it is for the laptops that leave the workspace. When someone else on the domain tries to login when the laptop is set to DHCP, it won't let them unless an admin logs in and sets it to static. Do you follow?

Is there any way around this? Thanks in advance.

... I have a few laptops that are connected to the domain but also leave the workspace occasionally. I understand that the laptops cache the domain data...

Thats partially true. Windows will cache the domain credentials for any user that logs in while connected to the network. It does NOT cache the entire domain.

...but when I set up a new laptop or computer and first try to add it to the domain, it will not let me unless I assign the device a static ip. Once I give it a static IP, I can login in and what not with no problems. However, when I set the computer back to DHCP, I can still login but a different user cannot login, even though it has a connection to the server, but not a static IP address.