PC controled RGB adapter questions, and LED question!

Alright, a few questions. I'm looking to make a RGB setup in my PC, and the below product looks FANTASTIC.

http://www.ledlight.com/rgb-controller-computer-pc-controlled.aspx

The only problem is it's $100, which is a LOT. I've seen a lot of (sort of) how to videos on it, but no one really has ever produced a fantastic guide for the absolute novice like me. Does anyone have any suggestions, or at least a product just like that for around $50 or lower?

Onto my second question, I plan on my build to have rows of white LED lights on my PC. I need them to be 5 across for the top and bottom rows, and only one or two in the middle with a gap between them.

0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0
0 ------- 0
0 0 - 0 0
0 ------- 0
0 0 0 0 0
0 0 0 0 0

If I were to buy individual LED's and connect them together, how should I do this? I honestly haven't a clue. I know before on single LED's I've wired them to a single molex cable, and I sort of want to do that again, even if I have to do several of them.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, and I'm sorry for being a noob.

As for how to wire LEDs together, I suggest you take a look at an LED calculator. It'll show you how to wire them up.

$100 for an LED controller is, indeed, really expensive. I'm not aware of another out there, but $100 for a $2 microcontroller and $1 worth of other parts is quite a markup.

Thanks for the reply. I did a little research and found the fabulous world of ShiftBrite, and those controlers that go with it. They run off a straight USB port and can be programmed. The light bar is $10 from an online deal store and the adapter from Shiftbrite is only $10~, with the USB adapter being $30. All in all about $50 for a complete setup, half the price of just that controler.