Limp Gawd
just got my system working:

intel 560 3.6ghz
ocz powerstream 520
asus p5ad2 premium
asus eaxx800xt
kingston pc2-4300 2x1gb
2xraptor 74gbs

all worked absolutely fine (apart from the catalyst control panel not working) ive been happily using it, and while i was checking my mail it just shut off like a power failure, turned it on and got "system fail cpu test" :(

called asus and they said its most likely the motherboard and not the cpu.

im taking it back to the store tomorrow as they will test the processor and motherboard.

i hadn't done any overclocking of any kind, i wanted to run a stable system for a few weeks before i started playing.

*sighs*

back to my shabby geforce 5200 on my laptop :(

damn got a new processor and new motherboard and it still wont boot saying system fail cpu test :(

and now ive got ANOTHER new motherboard, this time a gigabyte, and still the same problem, it thinks the CPU is dead :(

this is the second intel cpu ive tried with it, when i got the second cpu i was so careful, discharged any static that might have been on me etc.. what are the chances of two faulty processors... argh im going nuts here i should have just bought one from alienware or dell :(

freecableguy said:

tried it without the kingston 533 ddr2 in and still the same, from the looks of the manual it checks cpu before it gets to memory/graphics card so the only components it could have been were cpu/mobo or psu. i seriously doubt it was the psu as all the rails showed green lights indicating correct output voltages.

i now have a pci express x800 xt i cant do anything with and will sell at a good price if anyone is interested, same for the 2x 1gb memory ddr2 533. :(

Hey, before you sell everything figure out the problem and fix it. It can only be a number of things. Check the PSU, then re-check correct placement of CPU and memory. Don't just give up. The answer is out there.

same MoBo

After a bad flash, I've the same message "system failed CPU test"