Odd problem with Win XP Networking...

Sven_Lee

Limp Gawd
ok first of all I'm a rookie when it comes to networking, so bear with me.

Alright so, I've got 2 questions. . I'll go ahead and describe what I'm doing first. Basically I have 3 computers going to a router that my friend got with his Gateway computer (gateway router) going through a cable internet connection.

Now I also have a LinkSys 4 port hub.. Over the weekend I disconnected the router and threw 2 computers on the hub so we could LAN UT2004, etc. When I went to hook up the router again both computers (mine and his) won't connect to the net.. The Local Area Network Connection keeps saying "Acquiring Network Address". Now, the only thing I changed when I hooked up the hub was the NetBios, I set it to enabled, in order to get the LAN up.. So I tried turning it off again, but that didn't do it.. I'm kinda stumped on this one, usually I don't have problems with networking, I've set up mutiple small LANs for me and my friends, but I haven't used a router quite so much.. So basically, right now I can't get online at home.. (I'm in class right now)

My other question - is it even necessary to use the hub? Is there a way to set it up so all 3 computers can access the internet AND use the benefits of a LAN (file sharing, etc) ?

Help much appreciated.. Thank you.

Try reseting the router and reconfiguring it. And no, there is no way to get all your PCs onto the same network without using a hub. Unless you use a switch, or chain them via BNC :)

dariob said:
Unless you use a switch, or chain them via BNC

could you elaborate? :D

I'll try resetting the router, was just hoping I didn't have to do that again, I hate setting it up Lol..

Sven_Lee said:
could you elaborate? :D

I'll try resetting the router, was just hoping I didn't have to do that again, I hate setting it up Lol..