limit wifi speed?

DF-1

2[H]4U
Hello,

I'm a huge network noob, I really don't know anything about it.

I was wondering if theres a program or something that I could use for my router to limit the bandwidth that it gives on wifi?

I currently have about a 20down/2up connection from time warner with a linksys E1200 router.

I just want to limit the wifi speeds to about 70% because recently someone moved in that does a lot of downloads and makes my games go from 40 ping to 300+ and also my phone is through the internet, which becomes unusable.

just some simple setting to set the max wifi data to 13megabits/s down 1mbit up or something. Is there something like this?

Thanks!

1st you need to access your router. But, to check ip's. Start button, type in cmd "right click run as admin" inside the new window, type ipconfig/all hit enter. Look on the list for your "default gateway" IP now type that into your browser's top address bar: 192.168.xxx <--Example. under your router will have the default router admin/pass code that you need to enter to access your settings. look around in your settings, careful to not change too much as you can really mess things up. Set to wireless G mode if you can "it's a slower link speed for wireless", lower the power output down from 100% to say 50-70%. those are small suggestions for easing bandwidth on your network, you'll need to look up how to do QOS - quality of service if you want to allocate bandwith across fairly. qos settings differ on router to router if they even support it.

Your router might have QoS settings, so you can set certain programs (like games or VoIP) or IPs or MAC addresses on your network to have higher priority than others; and certain things (like torrents or usenet) to have lower priority. This way if your roommate/other person starts up some downloads while you're playing, data packets for your game/voip will always be prioritized over his torrent/usenet/download packets.