Is this enough ???

KamaL

n00b
Hi guys....

I'm new to all the wireless world... I have a desktop pc and a notebook... I'm interested in buying a wireless router, connecting the desktop pc to it, and use the notebook for wireless networking, such as surfing the internet, and transferring files between both of them...

I don't want to invest a big amount of money, because I won't use it that much, and during long periods I won't use the wireless connection at all...
Our house is a big one, consisting of 3 floors, so I'm aware that I'm surely not going to get good coverage through all the house without buying extra access points...

All I want is this: I will put the router near the desktop PC in a room, and I will use the notebook in the floor just under that room, so that the distance between the router and notebook wont exceed the 10-15 meters, and only the ceiling will separate between them...

I also don't care that much about security issues and stuff, since I'm quite sure no one in my neighbourhood has any wireless device... so a basic router will be enough...

Do you think that buying a basic router will be enough for this purpose?? Do u think I will be able to surf the net decently on the notebook, and transfer files between both PCs at decent speed?? I don't pretend too much, but at least surfing decently is obligatory...

Regarding the routers I've considered, there is the EDIMAX BR6114WG and the 3Com® OfficeConnect® 3CRWE554G72T ... Both of them cost something like 100$ here in Israel, and are among the most affordable ones...

What do you think???? Is This possible according to your personal experience??

Thanks in advance... :)