I took the plunge!

jacuzz1

Supreme [H]ardness
I recently aquired an old P2 300mhz Compaq for free and decided to put it to use by installing Red Hat linux. I downloaded the iso files from the Red Hat site. Installation went without a hitch. I have a couple of questions.

I am impressed with the os but its very sluggish. Can I assume it the 300mhz P2 and only 98 meg of system ram (2 shared for video) ?

My second question is about the desk top configuration. It appears to have only one default back ground /interface (X something or other) I have heard of gnome something or other. Please forgive my lack of knowledge of linux. Is this "gnome" thingy sometihing i can download or am i way off base here?

Signed: A linux total newbee that installed it on a wim to make use of a dinasaur.

i've got a p2 laptop. 160MBs RAM tho. but anyway, redhat's default GUI is gonna be sluggish on a p2. turn off all the animation effects and crap. kde will be faster imo than gnome. ideally you'd use openbox or fluxbox or blackbox, but they're bitches as a complete newbie.

what version of redhat did you install? i personally can't help you much for redhat specific stuff, but somebody should be able to.

if you open up control center and then have alook at appearance and themes you should get on a good start atleast.

My second question is about the desk top configuration. It appears to have only one default back ground /interface (X something or other) I have heard of gnome something or other. Please forgive my lack of knowledge of linux. Is this "gnome" thingy sometihing i can download or am i way off base here?