i need help reformating my windows 2k

first, i wasnt sure where this would go, so if the mods could please move this to the correct thread, it would be greatly appreciated.

i have windows 2k and i need to know how i reformat my hard drive and then installing windows 2k again.(step by step) (but im pretty sure that windows installation is pretty easy to follow, so just step by step up to when i put the disk in would be greatly appreciated)

im a noob at this,thx all :)

i booted my comp up with the windows disk in it and i got this on the, black whatever, begining screen;

"BIOS ROM checksum error
Detecting floppy drive A media...
INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER"

i hit enter and it just says "INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER" again.

HELP!!?!?!?

Sounds like you bios is screwy, try checking the settings and saving changes again, make sure that if it uses a battern that its not dead.

As far as formatting your drive when you install windows its simple. Just note that doing this meting you will loos 7~8 megs of space (If someone tells me why windows does this and continues to do this I will kiss you).

When installing windows from the text setup you will get to a point where you select where windows is going to be installed. At that point you have several options. If windows is the only thing thats going to be on that drive (IE: No seperate partitions for games etc etc) Then select the drive/partition where windows is going to be and hit the D key, it will tell you that you are deleting the partition and make you hit L (or is it enter then L) and delete the partiton, then from there you will be taken to the selection screen to install windows in a location. Select unpartition space, hit enter and watch it go!