I have these speakers what I can I do?

Dosobye

Limp Gawd
I'm a sound system noob.
Moved into new place previous owner left 4 of these. I have no idea the condition of them. Is there a economical way I can hook these up to my TV?
wN7wI

Attachments

• IMG_20180114_201546964.jpg
    IMG_20180114_201546964.jpg
    189.6 KB · Views: 41
They look like the old style Bose, back when they were pretty decent speakers for the size. If my memory serves, they should just be a normal + - wire hookup to an amp or receiver. Maybe test them with a meter to check the ohms and start testing at low volumes.

^ yup looks like. should work with anything that uses a +/- just not high wattage.

Thank you
I don't need to buy a subwoofer right?
What does keep it low mean? If I turn it up all the way I could blow them? There is no safety for that?

Need a sub? No. You'll want one though. Those Bose speakers are clearly very small and their drivers are only capable of producing sound down to a certain frequency. And yes, if you crank the volume they might not blow up but its very possible you'll damage the drivers.

Reading a little more about those old Bose jewel cubes, they seem like they might have a built in high-pass filter which means low frequencies won't even be sent to them. You're really going to want a sub but you should come to that conclusion on your own after listening to them.

Reading a little more about those old Bose jewel cubes, they seem like they might have a built in high-pass filter which means low frequencies won't even be sent to them. You're really going to want a sub but you should come to that conclusion on your own after listening to them.