Home Shares

tgray96

[H]ard|Gawd
Ok so i talked about ad a while back, anyway i mentioned that my school uses novell, ok, so every user has a home folder on a hard drive on the server so ( filepath ie: G\Home\Class2015\15Gray is there anyway for each user in ad to have this also?

Sure, there are several ways to accomplish this. Either a login scripts ( net use G: \\server\share\folder ) or GPPs.

Set up an OU and play with it.

I will take a stab at this... I believe you would apply a GPO in AD to the user accounts to redirect their My Documents folder to a share on your server.

i dont want to redirect the whole folder as of now, and uh, i am kind of new to this whole thing

i dont mean to sound like a total n00b, but uh how do i apply a gpo or login script?

i dont mean to sound like a total n00b, but uh how do i apply a gpo or login script?
Open up Group Policy Management Console, navigate to the OU where the users are. Then right click, create a GPO in this domain. Name it, right click and select Edit. Navigate to User Configuration -> Policies -> Windows Settings -> Scripts. Open up Logon script. Click show files...Right click in this folder, create text document, rename it to <something>.bat ( replace <something> with a valid file name ). Edit it. In this file, add the following net use G: \\<server>\<share>\<folder>. Save file, go back to the Logon Properties. Click Add..., browse, select the file you created.

This GPO will apply to all users below the OU.

ok will this let each user access ONLY their folder?
No. That needs to be handled by the file server's security. All my post will do is set up a network share on the G drive pointing to the file server.

??? I am confused... what do i need running on the server?
File sharing. Then, on the folders/files on the servers, you need to restrict permissions to whatever you need. So in this case, on each user folder you would remove domain users from the DACL and add the specific user and grant full access.