Help with shuttle sn45g

jukie888

n00b
Hi all, this is my first time posting, so please bear with the newbieness. I'm planning to use the shuttle sn45g for my first SFF and I wanted to use a AIW ATI 9600xt in it. Can anyone tell me whether there might be issues with cooling or even getting it to fit in there? Are there any issues which I might not be aware of with that kind of situation? Thanx.

It should be fine.

The only card people have probems with is the AIW9800, and that's not because it doesn't fit, but because the 200W PSU is not enough.

That said be sure you know one thing about the 9600XT AIW -- it has no DVI. That makes it a deal-breaker in my book, but some people can live with it.

I have a 9800Pro and that generates more heat than the 9600AIW and it works OK - but I do have the 250W silent-x psu as well.

agentzero9 said:
It should be fine.

The only card people have probems with is the AIW9800, and that's not because it doesn't fit, but because the 200W PSU is not enough.

Not true. The only problems occured because the AIW was drawing too much current on the +5V rail which caused the PSU to auto-shutdown. Wasn't a power issue, just a over-draw issue.

Also, I'm pretty sure it was certain revisions of 9700pro's and aiw 9700 pro's, not the 9800 series... but that aiw 9600xt should be fine

I'm also wondering about the sn45g cpu cooling system. I've read it uses the I.C.E. system, which seems to be the cpu hsf all in one thing. is that right? and if it is will i need to buy thermal paste or is there some kind of epoxy already on it? if i do need to buy a hsf, anyone have any recommendations?

jukie888 said:
I'm also wondering about the sn45g cpu cooling system. I've read it uses the I.C.E. system, which seems to be the cpu hsf all in one thing. is that right? and if it is will i need to buy thermal paste or is there some kind of epoxy already on it? if i do need to buy a hsf, anyone have any recommendations?