Help Setting up Static LAN IP's

Sob Rogue

Limp Gawd
My computer and NAS are connected to my router. Both have two dozen ports opened to them for apps, games, etc. Every time I unplug my laptop, and return, the local IP changes and I have to go back and reset all those ports to the new address. This same thing happens to my NAS when it restarts. Is there a way to assign a static LAN IP to just those two devices and keep DHCP on?

If not, how do I set up a static Lan IP address's with all my devices through my router? I been playing around with it with no luck. Not sure what I'm doing wrong or if I have the wrong equipment.

I'm not a networking expert and would really be happy not having to reset the IP every time I unplug my computer..:mad:

My Equipment:
Router - TEW-432brp
NAS - QNAP TS-101

Thanks,
Rogue

Easiest would be to just specify static DHCP leases (so every time the devices ask the router for an IP they get the same on that you specify).

You will want to login to your router, go to the LAN & DHCP page, enter the device name (can be anything you want), IP you want it to have, and its MAC address. Do this for each device you want to have a static assignment. For wireless clients you can get the MAC Address on the Status --> Wireless page in the router. For LAN clients, you can go to the command prompt on windows and enter "arp -a" without quotes and it will show you the IPs and MAC address of all the devices on your network.

The other option is to specify a static IP in the device properties...in windows you go to the network connections panel, right click on the interface and go to properties, then click on Internet Protocol in the list and hit the properties button. There you can specify the IP for the machine, subnet mask (which should just be 255.255.255.0), gateway (your routers IP), and DNS (can just be your routers IP or you could use something like www.opendns.com).