Help placing an on/off switch between PSU & HDD

I have an external USB HDD that I only turn on to backup data and have always wanted it in my computer case to save space, but I didn't want it on all the time. Then, I read an article on a 3 way switch between hard drives which gave me an idea to have it mounted in my case and plugged in via sata and power, but have a switch wired in the power cable to turn it off/on whenever I want.

I'm not experienced in the electrical area and was wondering if this DPDT switch would work if I hacked the power cable? http://www.newark.com/c-k/f2uoa/pushbutton-switch/dp/49H6697

From what I understand, I would just have to connect the 5v and 12v cables to terminals 1-2 on the switch and the switch would then function between 0-1 and 1-2 and leave the grounds going straight to the HDD.

In short terms, yes. However not all switches are created equal. What I would recommend is a DPST switch instead, as you don't need 2 "ON" positions. It's always a good idea to double check the switch itself for function with an ohm-meter before actually connecting it... I doubt your power supply would thank you if you connected the 12v to the 5v line by accident. :) And yes, leaving the grounds connected but disabling both the 12v and 5v line with the switch will work.

One _major_ flaw in that article you're referring to is that it _will_ nuke your HDD at some point when the +V lines are connected prior to ground (black wires). Grounds should be connected before V+ gets connected, that's why the SATA power connector is 'staggered', i.e. the ground lines on the connector are longer than the other lines, ensuring that ground is always connected before the other lines. This is what makes hot-plugging possible. You seem to understand this already, but I just wanted to make sure :)