[Help] Need advice on my E6600 OC

qzj

n00b
I just built my new PC. I got P5N-E mobo. I am new to OCing, so I need some advanced users to give me some advice on this. Thanks in advance.

All I did was went into BIOS and try to increase the multiplier, it was defaulted at 9, I tried to increase it to 10 and restared my computer, but nothing changed, it was still at 2.4Ghz, so I went back into the BIOS and checked. The multiplier was still at 9. I have changed it several times and saved it, but it seems that the multiplier was locked at 9, and I had no idea how to unlock it. My friend said the CPU probably locked the feature in factory, so I had to try to increase FSB. I increased FSB from 1066 to 1333, and the CPU jumped to 2.99Ghz. Vista ran smoothly, everything seemed quite stable. And I went into BIOS again, and checked the setting, VCore increased from 1.34 to 1.42 by itself. I was gonna do it manually if the system was unstable or something, but I didn't have to do anything, which I thought was weired because from what I heard, I am suppose to adujst the voltage myself. So here's my questions:
1. Is this normal? Should I be the one doing the voltage adjustment or the computer does it itself?

2. Why can't I change the multiplier? Is there anything I have to do before I adjust it? Or is it just my CPU's problem?

3. Does the FSB numbers have to follow some kind of pattern, like 800, 1066 1333 etc, or it's up to the user. I increased it further to 1380, now my CPU is running at 3.11Ghz, and everything still seems to be very smooth, so I'm sort of comfused... is this all I need to do to OC my E6600? Is it this simple?

4. What things can I do to check the stability of my system to make sure that the new OCed CPU can handle the change.

You can allow the motherboard to adjust the voltage automatically ("Auto" setting), but you often don't need as much voltage as the mobo thinks you do. I run my e6600 at 3GHz on less than stock voltage.