Help choose a 40 inch TV for the master bedroom (Plasma, LCD, etc...)

computerinfo

Limp Gawd
I am about to build a new BeyondTV link box for the master bedroom and have a question about which 40 inch monitor to use.

Since prices have fallen so much, I am going with a 1080 vs 720 set. I have always liked Plasma better than LCD, but since the source will be coming from a PC, I assume that an LCD is better.

1. Has the Plasma vs. LCD battle been won yet when it comes to PC use.
2. Are there any recommended TV set in the 40 inch range that are current models that are recommended. (Samsung, Sony, Toshiba, Panasonic, etc...)

Anyone else...

Do you know of any current reviews in this catagory. So many of the reviews I find are from previous models. These models change so quickly.

I was in the market for a 37 inch a few months ago and had done a lot of research and being a college student I was on a tight budget. I had a few choices in mind so I went to a local store to get a close up view of each and I ended up settling on 40 inch Samsung (Model LN40A550). The store actually price matched my online price of $999 out the door (good price at the time). So far I couldn't be more happier, although you always seem to want it bigger but other than that and no 120hz (3:2 Pulldown/Blu ray seem to look fine) the TV is outstanding coupled with Clique's (member of AVS that has professional calibration hardware) settings the TV looks and performs fantastic.

The tv was a perfect balance of price/performance for me and if you have a bit more money to spend I heard really good things about the 650/750/850 series Samsungs and the Sony TV's (Especially good with SD material).

The more I search to more options I find.

Here are a group on 40-42 inch displays from newegg. - so many choices

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...2E16889101179,N82E16889104124,N82E16889102208