Help a Noob: How can I block Hulu on my Home Network?

JJYL13

n00b
Hi,

Thank you in advance for reading this.
I am not very technically proficient and I have tried searching Google but found no solution, so I am posting here asking for your help.

How can I block Hulu access via my home network?
The reason for this is that I have about 10 computers connected to the network and not very much bandwidth, so I would like to limit web access strictly to browsing, emails, etc and not for streaming TV/media.

My network is running on a Linksys WRT160N router that has been flashed with DD-WRT v24-sp2 (04/23/10) std firmware.
I have tried "Website Blocking by URL Address" and "Website Blocking by Keyword" in my router settings but neither seem to take effect. :confused:

Last edited:
You need to find the domain that Hulu actually streams from. Blocking domains in a properly working DNS is easy and pretty effective. Are you running a DNS server?

I dont know what a DNS server is.... so my guess is that I am not running a DNS server?
What is the protocol to find the domain that Hulu actually streams from?

That's one of these cases where it's hard to even find a start. It's like someone asking how to tune their car and when you tell them, they reply that they know what a steering wheel is.

The "protocol" to find the domain is looking at your browser and see whether you can locate the URL of the video. If that doesn't work for some odd reason, tcpdump always works. You could then blackhole the second-level domain in your DNS server.

Additionally, you could resolve the hostname you find and check via whois whether its IP address is some content distribution network or registered to Hulu directly. If it belongs to Hulu directly, you could go ahead and block their complete network in your packet filter.

If all that didn't make sense, you should probably let someone else handle this.