Got 26" Acer (hit a bit of a jackpot?)

colbert

n00b
I'm far from an expert but here's my "review," hopefully helps anyone looking for a monitor if not this one specifically.

I went to Future Shop today, initially seeking the LG246WP, so I walked in and told the guy I wanted it. 15 minutes later, after talking to the manager and spending 10 mins in the back looking for it, they said they didn't have one. I was about to say buh-bye and go to the FS a bit further away, but the manager said "We have an Acer 26 that we can give you a better deal on." I instantly thought open box or no warranty or something, but it turned out it was their last unit in stock. I wasn't convinced, but then I inspected the box, opened it and everything was sealed as new, it seemed the real deal. I grabbed it for $683, taxes and warranty in, the same price as the LG before the warranty! I figure even if it was a meticulous open box repackaging job (I used to refurbish electronics some years ago myself, I know the tricks of making stuff look like it's never been touched) I still got an excellent deal, unless some of you are aware of where it's cheaper.

I just got home and set it up, it was a piece of cake. I just tossed on a bunch of DVDs and video files, going crazy with colour/brightness/etc. settings. This is a fantastic monitor, I am in love :D Movies look fantastic, it fits into my desk EXACTLY how I wanted, it's so nice. There's no height or pivot adjustment options, but those are irrelevant as it's already sitting high enough from my view in the chair, and if I ever want to turn it the thing is light as hell and moves effortlessly. The viewing angles are great too.