FF bookmarks gone ?!?!?!?

_jd_

Weaksauce
ok now that I stopped punching the wall (Hi neigbourino !), though still shaking and foaming with rage and all... it seems like my Firefox bookmarks have disappeared ? (*&*(#&%#*$&(*@$&#&)

I was playing Jagged Alliance 2 - old, undemanding game that has never given me any troubles, so I normally just run it without closing browser windows, winamp and all the usual little things like that - when I somehow pressed ESC with some ingame popup on the screen and for some reason the game locked up. For that matter, the whole computer was near-frozen, but I managed to switch back to desktop by pressing Win key. I had a bunch of sites open in the browser that I wanted to bookmark and haven't done that before I started playing so I did that (it was all slow but I eventually bookmarked what I wanted to and closed Firefox).

And then... I restarted the comp.... opened FFox and - it was like I just ran it for the first time... default layout... which I didn't mind too much (reminded me of IE, it used to lose the customized layout once in a while).....but then I went to open one of the previously saved bookmarks.... AND THEY WERE ALL F^%$%#%$%^ GONE !!!!??????? ... and the next thing I remember is someone taking a straight jacket off of me... :mad:

SO... any ideas ??? this is just stupid. I want them back !

thanks for that. appreciated.

however... sadly... it turns out that the only other profile with the bookmarks file there was rather old- to be exact, it was from the day when I installed FF and imported bookmarks from IE (and that was a looooong time ago) - that of course doesn't make any sense because I haven't had any "profile-crash" :D or changed the profile before so if that was there it should have had all of my bookmarks up until the few days ago... go figure