Few Questions Windows Server 2003

p0lish

Gawd
Just a few questions. Right now i have a basic network at home setup with a linksys router/wireless AP/additional switch/cable modem. This works pretty well, but i decided i could use a server to store some backup files and do various other tasks. I obtainted a copy of win2k3 through school and truely dont know how to use it yet. I have been researching for quite awhile and was hoping for help. My goal is to have the server be a DHCP server, file server, and firewall. I have two NICs installed, and my guess was connect one to the cable modem, and have the other pcs connect to the switch and connect the switch to the second NIC, and use the router/AP as only an AP. Im hoping for some suggestions, tips, anything. Links or anything would be great. Sorry if i seem like a total n00b, but this is my first attempt at something like this.

Thanks,
Bill

it's not hard to setup dhcp and file server at all. there is a wizard to guide you through the process of setting up your desired server roles. however, i do not think it is a good idea to use the machine as a firewall, since you will have all your data on it. your router already acts as a firewall via nat (network address translation), which should be more than enough for most home networks.

i tried it, and didnt seem to work at all. can you be specific on how to set it up? i had the cable modem into the 1st NIC, and the Linksys wireless router plugged into the second with the cable going into the "internet" The computers were not able to obtain an ip via the DHCP. I had the server configured with minimal changes. what am i doing wrong?

Bill,

Like ITR suggested, i would leave the Linksys to handle the routing, while you let the server handle file serving and DHCP.

If you still want to move ahead with it, i would recommend getting a copy of ISA 2004 to run on this box. You definitely don't want a regular win2k3 server facing the internet.