EE or EET?

powerman

Gawd
Right now I am taking EET and CET in college. I am thinking of changing to EE. When I am taking EET, I can also take CET so I will end up with two degrees. I know that EE is more respectable, but exactly how much more respectable is it? The university that i go to offers both degrees so I wouldn't have to relocate and the tuition would be the same.

I found the first quarter to be very easy and the second quarter is somewhat more difficult, but still easy. I am a little worried that I might not be able to make it at an EE degree but I'm not exactly sure how difficult it is compared to an EET program.

If I got a degree in EET, is it likely that the university would tranfer over most of classes I took for EET to EE? I definately don't want to go to college for ever. :rolleyes: An EE degree is now five years and so is the EET degree. 10 years is definately too many.

I am interested in programming PLCs much more than building circuits. In general, I prefer software much more than hardware. I am mainly interested in writing firmware and PC or PDA software to go along with it. For a firmware position like this, does the extra T make that much of a difference? Thanks for any input.

I am interested in programming PLCs much more than building circuits. In general, I prefer software much more than hardware. I am mainly interested in writing firmware and PC or PDA software to go along with it. For a firmware position like this, does the extra T make that much of a difference? Thanks for any input.

Why not do computer engineering then?

If you're planning on doing software for PDA type stuff, you're probably gonna be responsible in some form for hardware / ASIC design. I'd say do computer engineering. Programming + HDL, and the professional status to boot.

I'm an EE, and I work along side a bunch of EET's / CET's... and their job is technician stuff. Generally hands-on stuff, but the designing is mainly done by the EE's and CE's.